Need help making a cinema out of my living room!

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Building DIY' started by Ultima893, Jan 3, 2012.

1. Ultima893

Ultima893
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey guys, got a new place and want to transform the upstairs living room into a cinema. I already have most of the "cinema" equipment from my old room (I'm a student)

The setup I currently own:

Bowers & Wilkins DM685s
    KEF KHT3005
    Denon AVR-1911
    Infocus SP8602
    speaker cables
    NO projector screen (as I didn't know where I'd end up living)

Here's some photos:

I would imagine I'd place a comfy chair where I took this photograph, about 4 metres from the. Imagining that the screen starts an inch to the left of the banister, the projector screen would hang only a few inches off the ground on the left side because of the sloping ceiling, assuming I'll buy a 100" which is 221cm x 125cm. Would this be uncomfortable from 4 metres?

[​IMG]

--- Alternatively I could move the cinema screen to the side where I can hang the projector against the wall, inbetween my two windows. This will then point towards the banister in front of the stairs, where I am not directly limited by a sloping ceiling, however, if we place a sofa as far back as possible we're still only sitting 3 metres from the screen, and our heads might have to rest ON the windows and perhaps the HUMONGOUS Infocus SP8602 might be too big/ too noisy to be between us like that? The plus side is that we can have shelves with Receiver, PS3, etc under the projector. But then the problem is.. Where on earth do I put my B&W DM685s? Won't my rear KEF speakers also be funnily placed? The side speakers too far away perhaps?

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    -------

So is 3 metres from 100" too close? should I go for a smaller screen? (I don't really want to :( ) If that's the case, would it be better to have a smaller screen placed on the wall in the first pic?