1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need help choosing LCD TV

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by DrSpike, Oct 10, 2005.

1. DrSpike

DrSpike
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    I'm pretty new to this game, but I'll try to help those who aren't by describing my situation and desired features as best I can.

Essentially I have an old TV and DVD player, and my hi-fi and speakers are in my computer room of the flat I've just bought, so I am in the position of needing to upgrade a lot of things together (for my lounge), which in some ways helps I guess, but taxes the wallet.

Reading the forum the first step to choosing a TV seems to be whether to get a HD ready one. I am going to use Freeview not Sky, and wont buy an X-Box 360 for the next couple of years. Probably I wont buy a HD DVD player until the market has matured a bit. Hence I think I don't really need an HD ready TV, but of course there is an argument that if you are going to spend a lot on a TV then you might as well spend a little extra to make it HD ready. Overall it kinda depends, since as I have a lot to upgrade there are lots of interacting decisions.

The 2 main ones are DVD player and sound. I'm planning on posting a thread in the DVD forum to get feedback, but to summarise here I'm planning on getting a cheapish machine (looking at the H&B 3255) to play my many DivX files and DVDs now, and get a recorder with Hard drive and HMDI output later on when my finances recover. I think this implies I should get TV with HDMI. If I am not right in thinking this will be beneficial even if I don't plan on getting an HD ready TV please correct me.