1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need help big time!!

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by UMAR 3:16, Feb 9, 2005.

  1. UMAR 3:16

    UMAR 3:16
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    3,162
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +118
    Hi every one although i have been reading up on the forum for a long time iam only a new member :hiya:

    I am seriously confused now. I want to get either a plasma or a DLP projector. My first choice (i think is a projector). The reason being its much cheaper then the plasma i want (the Pioneer 435XDE) and it would give me a better picture.

    I have in mind the InFocus 4805 which i can get for about a £1000. But i have some set backs.

    1. what is the picture quality like on projectors (Infocus in particluar)

    2. I will only be watching DVD's through the projector....how easy is it to setup.

    3. Can the Infocus be put on a coffe table as i dont want to start drilling as well.

    4. I was thinking of geting a 6 foot beemax screen. How easy is this to setup i mean how would u bolt it on?? (dumb question maybe but i have no clue)

    5. Finally can u get cables that would run from one end of the room (the bay where the DVD and AMP sits) to the other end where the projector will be?

    I know its a lot to ask but i need serious help, Help me you AV nutters ur my only hope!!!! :lesson: :lesson:

    Thanks Again!!!!
     
  2. vicbarry

    vicbarry
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    457
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Cork
    Ratings:
    +7
    Hope this helps, Im using a Sony HS20 PJ in a dedicated room, and somewhere down the line Id like to put a plasma into the living room (says he whos broke). Its down to personal taste, but you can get a great image from a PJ not to mention a large one at that.
     
  3. jonrud

    jonrud
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    171
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Purton , Wilts
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi
    I have the infocus 5700 wired from my yamaha 2400 with a 15 mtr components lead (hidden in ceiling) projecting onto an oray hcm1 79" screen the dvd is a tosh dr1 and that picture is outstanding. I had a demo on the 4805 it was good but the 5700 had the edge if you can afford if go for the 5700. :smashin:
     
  4. UMAR 3:16

    UMAR 3:16
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    3,162
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +118
    Thanks for the help so far guys...where can i get custom leads from???



    jonrud so u have basically connected the pj via ur amp and then have ur amp hooked up to ur dvd yes?
     
  5. Oakleyspatz

    Oakleyspatz
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2004
    Messages:
    3,576
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Woking
    Ratings:
    +231
    I own a 4805 and can confirm that the image quality via component is fantastic. You can buy long lengths of component from most AV retailers, just type in 10m component cable into google and see what comes up. The projector will sit on a coffee table, a bookshelf or a ceiling mount but try and position the projector level with the screen as opposed to angled up or down at it which will distort the image although it does have keystone to correct this.

    send me a pm direct if you have any other questions regarding the 4805 and I'll be happy to try and help.
     
  6. digisocialist

    digisocialist
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    477
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +2
    Agree. I too have just got the 4805 and am using Belden 7110A Component with Canare Connectors (Mark Grant Special) and the Picture direct from my 2910 is superb. If you're new, like me, then this PJ works straight out of the box and is very user friendly. I think PJ vs Plasma is a no brainer at the cost. You get big screen entertainment and a top quality picture for less than a plasma... you know it makes sense!
     
  7. digisocialist

    digisocialist
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    477
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +2
    Forgot to add... you should consider the SP5700 or H57, especially as the Plasma you're looking at is retailing at 3k! You may even wish to step up to the 7205, H77 or Sim Domino 20 if you're seriously in the 3k band.
     
  8. UMAR 3:16

    UMAR 3:16
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    3,162
    Products Owned:
    2
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +118
    thanks for all ur help guys......

    I dont think iam in the 3k bracket m8...lol :eek:
     
  9. jonrud

    jonrud
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2004
    Messages:
    171
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Purton , Wilts
    Ratings:
    +2
    Yes out of the dvd & into the amp out of amp into the 5700 with components leads works perfect. Sevenoaks made the leads up for me the 15 mtr lead cost about £120.00
     
  10. Supersonic

    Supersonic
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Messages:
    865
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Surrey
    Ratings:
    +68
    ...or if your budget is smaller, get a 15m component lead for £35 from Nexnix.
     

Share This Page

Loading...