Need freeview box for top up TV

Discussion in 'Freeview & YouView' started by moshchops, Jun 9, 2005.

  1. moshchops

    moshchops
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Can anyone point me in the direction for a freeview box which accepts a top up tv card.

    Cheapest i've found is around £70.00

    thanks
     
  2. Shwing

    Shwing
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Messages:
    127
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
  3. Sami

    Sami
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2004
    Messages:
    2,173
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Forest Hill, London
    Ratings:
    +84
  4. HarryAlffa

    HarryAlffa
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    61
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm having trouble with my Thomson DTI 2300 and have been looking to take it back to the shop for a refund and get another.

    However the BT iPlayer+ for Freeview TV does not seem to be able to control a VCR to record programs on it's timer. I'm on the phone to BT just now 0800 328 9654 (8am-8pm Mon-Sat) ....
    They've put me through to the technical helpline 0870 241 8636 ...

    Excellent, it does control your VCR via scart on timer events. I'm ordering one right now!
    It's on a Special Introductory Offer of £79.99 until 1st July, after that another tenner.

    The review, which was made available by Sami, mentions a "phantom PVR for £30". It turns out that this is only for controling a VCR (via Infrared) which cannot be controlled over the VCR scart.
    I couldn't find a "phantom PVR" on the BT Shop site but the technical helpline knew what it was.
    RadioandTelly.co.uk review of this box.
     
  5. BillyBits

    BillyBits
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If you do consider the BT iPlayer+ (which I would recommend) a cheaper option is to buy the BT iPlayer from http://www.telephonesonline.co.uk for £49.99 and upgrade the firmware to the + (easy to do via dialup or broadband). The kit comes with wireless remote & wireless keyboard and gives you lots of extra features. This saves you over £50.
    Only one downside for the iPlayer is the lack of RF output.
    You can also get a compatible USB WiFi adapter for an extra £15.

    Without doubt the most feature ridden Freeview receivers around.
    Regards,
    BillyBits
     
  6. moshchops

    moshchops
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does this model take the top up TV card?
     
  7. BillyBits

    BillyBits
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes. The BT version of the iPlayer/+ has the TUTV cam built into the software..
    You only need the TUTV card for the extra channels.
    For the netgem versions of the iPlayer you need to buy a CAM and a card.
    Regards,
    BillyBits
     
  8. moshchops

    moshchops
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all, thanks for you feedback, went for the BT version.

    What a piece of kit, for the same money what I would pay for a standard box from a high street store I can do so much more, got my broadband connection running through it and the web pages are really good on my 27" LCD TV.
     
  9. HarryAlffa

    HarryAlffa
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    61
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well actually it doesn't. :mad:
    It's supposed to, I phoned BT shop and got them to send me another. That doesn't work either.
     

Share This Page

Loading...