Need DVD Authoring Advice (Software)

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Making Forum' started by jmcmike, Feb 27, 2004.

1. jmcmike

jmcmike

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi, I'm new here so please forgive me if I am posting in the wrong place.

I am a pretty technical person in most regards and I have some experience with DV editing with consumer level software (Early versions of Pinnacle Studio, currently Video Explosion Deluxe, which is a repackaged Sonic Foundry product, the name escapes me) I also have a digital 8 camcorder and I have experience with importing/exporting to tape via firewire.

What's new with me is that I have purchased a Plextor 708A and a Canopus ADVC100 with the intention of doing a couple things. First, I plan to use DVD-R as my output format of choice for my edited home movies. I'll still retain raw footage and completed projects in DV format on tape for a high quality archive.

Secondly, I want to leverage my fair use rights to move some VHS content to DVD. Specifically I have a slew of kids videos that clock in at 30-40 minutes and I figure with a 4000 Kbps bitrate I should be able to fit 3-4 of these on a single DVD. Also, I would like to one day (if I can ever make the time) craft a couple "definitive versions" of some of my favorite DVD movies for my fair use pleasure. (i.e. Greedo did not shoot first!)

So I understandably have some questions just coming into this. I have read a few FAQ's but I guess I am reading the wrong ones because I am lost on some of the finer points.

First, I need a solid reasonably featured DVD authoring package that meets the following criteria at a minimum: