1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need Brainy People - Help with setup please....

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by OoOGazOoO, Dec 25, 2004.

  1. OoOGazOoO

    OoOGazOoO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    116
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +9
    Hi there, i got a dvd recorder today and i want to link it up to sky so that it records on sky but also so that you can watch another channel at the same time.

    At the moment what seems to be happening is that i am recording but as soon as i change channel it starts to record that new channel.

    My TV - 2 x Scart sockets,
    SKY Digibox - 2 x Scart Sockets
    LITE-ON DVD Recorder - 2 x Scart Sockets.

    If someone could tell me the best set-up i would be very grateful.

    Thanks

    Gaz.
     
  2. johnjackthom

    johnjackthom
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    707
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Location:
    Northumberland
    Ratings:
    +236
    Assuming you are not trying to view a different Sky channel from the one being recorded which is impossible. :)

    I would connect as follows

    Sky "TV" scart to the DVD Recorder AV2
    DVD recorder AV1 scart to Television External 1.

    To record Sky you select AV2 as the input on the DVD recorder .


    If you have a spare scart lead you also could connect the Sky "VCR" scart to the TV External 2 which would be useful for watching sky when the DVD recorder is busy recording from its own internal tuner.
     
  3. phelings

    phelings
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,025
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    The Liteon dvdr may not even have RGB input-depending on which model it is.
    If you can stretch to Sky+.Excellent-when it actually works
     
  4. pjclark1

    pjclark1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2004
    Messages:
    4,411
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Thailand
    Ratings:
    +271
    Oi gaz, fancy seeing you on this forum as well

    have a nice Xmas
     
  5. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,497
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +460
    you can only record the channel you are watching as far as I know....I have sky+ and a panasonic dvd recorder and even progs that you have recorded on sky+ have to be played back (and viewed), at normal speed, to copy them to dvd. Unless your dvd took the same two sky+ feeds into it I can't see any way round that (and I don't that is possible anyway) :)
    Of corse you could just pop down the pub while its recording but I find you have to hang around as you will normally want to edit out the ads.
     

Share This Page

Loading...