Need an overview of AMX programming

asimmittal

Standard Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone,

I am an AV installer and wanted to know a little more about how AMX products are programmed. I don't want details about the languages and syntax as such, only an overview of the tools involved

For example, if you consider a small amx setup with a net linx controller and a touch panel and a controller for lights and air conditioning. Now the user interface for the touch panel is designed in the TP4 Designer. This is apparently an IDE for designing the UI that goes onto your AMX touch panels.

Someone has told me that all these IDEs (for e.g. NetLinx Studio and TP4 Designer etc) allow you to create project files. All these project files are programmed onto the net linx controller and it internally manages distribution of the software between various components like the Touch panels at other hardware.

If that is the case, then every time a touch panel gets damaged, will i have to go to the site and reprogram the touch panel through netlinx controller.

Is it not possible to preload the touch panel's part of the software and ship it to the site.

My service engineer tells me that the programming of the touch panel (i use a Modero touch panel) can only be done through the controller over ethernet. I somehow, feel that this may not be correct. If this indeed is correct, how do i replace touch panels conveniently without sending a person to the site everytime something goes wrong????

I need someone to explain to me what part of the software goes in where and which ide is it designed in. I currently have Netlinx studio and TP4 designer running on my computers. Doesn't AMX support distributed programming where in i can program each component separately and integrate them. I understand that they may have gone with the centralized programming approach to make this convenient, but if so, this is turning into a service nightmare.