• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

need an advice......

r3b78

Standard Member
good day to all.... im a newbie for this home theater speakers... i need some help for choosing a good av receiver for my wharfedale moviestar 60+ and a pair of vardus 400 floorstanding speakers.... im a music lover and a bit of movie watcher please need help and guidance.... thanks for all help you can give.....

dante01

Distinguished Member
The warm nature of your speakers is best suited to the more clinical sounding AV amps. Sony, Pioneer and Onkyo are all associated with being clinical in nature.

What is your budget for the amp and do you need compatibility with 3D?

If you don't require the 3D capabilities associated with HDMI 1.4 then I'd suggest the Sony STRDA2400ES for just £250:
Sony STR-DA2400ESB 7.1 Channel AV Receiver in Black: Amazon.co.uk: Electronics

The HDMI 1.4 Pioneer VSX920 is also good value for money at £360:
http://www.petertyson.co.uk/ebuttonz/ebz_product_pages/pioneer_vsx920.shtml

Last edited:

r3b78

Standard Member
thank you very much mr dante.... i forgot to say that i also plan to go only 5.1 set up i will not use the other two sattelite speakers and put my vardus as my front...
i like also the 3d ready but my main concern is the use for listening to music im much a music lover.......
will the yamaha dont suit for my speakers...
or which do you think the best for my wharfedale....
onkyo, pioneer or sony? i really want to hear it play really great....
thank you again mr dante hope to have more enlightment.......
to all the guys out there pls pour on your suggestion before i decide to buy an av receiver....:)

dante01

Distinguished Member