Need advice with placement of in-ceiling speakers (music only)

jdonelan

Novice Member
Hi everyone - I'm a noob here and I'd love any helpful advice you can offer.

We're remodeling our house and I'm considering putting in-ceiling speakers for streaming music only. The room is L-shaped which makes it kind of difficult. I'm thinking of using 4x Klipsch CDT-5800-C speakers with either a Sonos Amp or BlueSound Powernode. Trying to optimize speaker positions for music listening in the sitting area, dining area and kitchen area.

I've sketched up what I'm thinking in the attached picture (green area is the room layout). Room is approx 42 sq metres (420 sq feet). Each square on the picture represents 250mm, so the three speakers in the main area (marked in darker green with X) are 1m from the walls and approx 3.25m between each other. think I'm limited to 4 speakers if I go with the Sonos Amp.

Does this layout make sense or are there better things I should consider?
Should I just consider one or two Sonos 5's in the top two corners of the room?

Thanks!

Attachments

• speakerlayout.png
    speakerlayout.png
    276 KB · Views: 29

muljao

That's almost identical to my brothers house setup and they have 4 speakers in the ceiling, but he ended up buying a stereo, just saying, ceiling speakers might be tidier but not sure they can ever be great

jdonelan

Novice Member
That's almost identical to my brothers house setup and they have 4 speakers in the ceiling, but he ended up buying a stereo, just saying, ceiling speakers might be tidier but not sure they can ever be great
Could you elaborate more what you mean by "he ended up buying a stereo". Do you mean he bought a single stereo speaker or that he put in 2 speakers running in stereo mode together?

muljao