Question Need advice regarding buying first projector & projector screen (on a budget)

El Jefe 2015

Novice Member
I was wondering if anyone out there could give me advice on which projector & screen would be best for someone who has never owned one.

For instance:

Can it be done on a budget
Can more than one device be connected
Does the projector have to be mounted to the ceiling
What Would You recommend for a beginner screen/Projector

I know this is a long post but I appreciate the help, I am new to this so if I've forgotten something let me know.

Thanks for the help guys.

My budget would be roughly £300 for everything (if doable)

Stuart Wright

AVForums Founder
Staff member
There are a couple of parameters you wanna concern for a PJ purchase: brightness, resolution, keystone correction, throw ratio, etc.

1. Brightness (Lumens): you have to consider if you can control the light when you use the PJ. Any projector with <1000 lumens is mostly designed for dark room;
2. Resolution: for your budget, 1080P is unlikely. You might be able to find a decent 720P one if you are not strict with the pic quality
3. Keystone: without Keystone, you have to carefully calculate the height and central point of the screen. Otherwise, the projection will not be a rectangle.
4. Throw ratio: how big your room will be. If it is not too big, you need to consider a short throw one.

Now to answer your questions, with your budget, it's unlike to purchase a full-size projector. But you might wanna consider a LED one. There are many in the market. You can connect multiple devices and don't have to mount it (with Keystone). Here are some models.

~£300: ASUS S1, ASUS ZenBeam E1, AAXA P2A, AAXA P300, Optoma S321
~£400: Dell M115HD, Optoma ML750, Optoma ML550, Vivitek Qumi Q3, Vivitek Qumi Q6 (love vivitek design!).

If you have a decent wall, you might want to consider passing the screen based on the budget.