1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

need advice quick

Discussion in 'Cables & Switches' started by jonnyseale, Aug 1, 2005.

  1. jonnyseale

    jonnyseale
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok straight to the point i am about to have some plastering done and cant afford to buy masses of hdmi cable to send pics to bedroom and living room from loft room at the moment. can i run cat five cable for video then attatch cat five to hdmi adapters like gefen at a later date do you loose quality if you do this. any ideas anyone :eek:
     
  2. jonnyseale

    jonnyseale
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    ok i probably made no sense at all there what i basically want to do is have all my equipment in the loft, sky plus, arcam dv79, (and possibly a scaler not bought yet) + denon 3805 amp. and feed hdmi to my plasma downstairs in the living room and hdmi to my bedroom, it should be a straight run from top to bottom, but am not sure wether i can afford the cable at present. and as i am having walls plastered, i wonder if there is a cat5 option open to me and if there is; will i lose quality any advice would be appreciated thanks. :eek:
     
  3. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,768
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,464
    jonnyseale

    You shouldn't see a drop in picture quality if you want to send Digital Video over CAT5 using a Gefen extender/converter.

    Keep in mind most of the Gefen units require Two x CAT5 cables per run - plus whilst a lot of the boxes use HDMI connectors they are not full spec HDMI enabled; often they only carry the video signal and you'll require a separate box and cable for the audio signal.

    How long are your cable runs going to be?

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  4. jonnyseale

    jonnyseale
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    probably looking around 6meters to the bedroom from the loft and 12meters to the living room. :)
     
  5. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,768
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,464
    Hello jonnyseale

    If you go with a premium HDMI cable then 1 x 8m + 1 x 12m will cost you just under £350.00 for a set of high quality HDMI cables.

    See http://www.bettercables.com

    If you go with a lower spec HDMI cable then 1 x 10m + 1 x 15m will cost you just under £130.00.

    If you install a CAT5 solution for now it'll cost you a fair bit more that either of the above options to add all the required signal converters for Digital Video + Audio over CAT5 as and when your ready to use the cables.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  6. jonnyseale

    jonnyseale
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    many thanks for your advice i will go for the hdmi solution :D oh by the way if i am using a scaler most of which use dvi otputs can i still use hdmi with an adapter.
     
  7. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    23,768
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,464
    jonnyseale

    The HDMI to DVI adapters seem to work very well - certainly no problems reported so far.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  8. jonnyseale

    jonnyseale
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for the help joe
     
  9. jonnyseale

    jonnyseale
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    have you ordered from bettercables before and did you have to pay shipping costs :)
     
  10. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    13,977
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,779
    Johnny: I'm sure Joe has ordered from Betercables and I am sure he had to pay shipping costs...He's the Bettercables distributor in UK. You can get the cables direct from him. He's the guy I buy virtually all my cables from. Has stock and actually knows what he's talking about unlike some other cable suppliers who seme to have the attitude, "if you can't see a difference then just buy something expensive to give you eace of mind", which seems slightly insane to me.....

    Gordon
     
  11. neil68

    neil68
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0

Share This Page

Loading...