1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need Advice On Plasma

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by AFSTER, Sep 29, 2005.

  1. AFSTER

    AFSTER
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,506
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +53
    Hi there

    i am pretty new this board despite i have read a lot on info, u probs get this quetions all the time

    i want a plasma and want to spend about £1,500 ish

    i dont really mind if its not HDTV cos its not even out yet and by the time its out the tv that support will probs be cheaper than they are now and even better, so dont understand why people pay so much money now for something that isnt avail yet!!

    i def want a 42 inch screen, which is the best choice to get, some have HDTV and Freview but quality is more important than anything :)

    Sony KDEV42A12U
    Panasonic TH42PE50WAL
    Panasonic TH42PW7B
    Philips 42PF7520D or 42PF5520

    any comments, much appriciated

    Cheers
     
  2. longy

    longy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2005
    Messages:
    362
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Canterbury/kent
    Ratings:
    +21
    one thing i have noticed with low definition screens is they can look a bit course due to the lower number of pixels
     
  3. dickst3

    dickst3
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    504
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    hi

    what are you using with it?

    do you need a tuner? do you have sky?
     
  4. AFSTER

    AFSTER
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,506
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +53
    just my sony dvd player which is scart cable, dont get time for sky and all that other stuff but would like freeview for like ITV2 ;)
     
  5. dickst3

    dickst3
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    504
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    so you need a tuner then.

    i did alot of research on this forum and on the web and decided on either the Panasonic TH42PE50WAL or a pwd7 - i went for the pwd7 because i didn't need the tuner.

    you should find a TH42PE50WAL well within your budget.
     
  6. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    You don't need a tuner at all, just a freeview box, if you prefer. Lots of choice there, HDD recording might be a thought.
     
  7. Jim_Fear

    Jim_Fear
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,799
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Caterham
    Ratings:
    +59
  8. dickst3

    dickst3
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    504
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    sorry MAW i'm a relative noob here. well that would be a tuner then would it? :confused:

    ok, just done my research. :lesson: so you can buy a separate tuner - a "freeview box" ;) and plug into your existing aerial.
     
  9. AFSTER

    AFSTER
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,506
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +53
    I will probs buy from rgb direct if i can, they seem ok

    i need one that i can mount on the wall
     
  10. Jim_Fear

    Jim_Fear
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,799
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Caterham
    Ratings:
    +59
  11. dickst3

    dickst3
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    504
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
  12. AFSTER

    AFSTER
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,506
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +53
    So then u fine people thik that TH42PE50WAL is the best to go for then

    or what about TH42PE50B or TH42PWD8BS
     
  13. Majid Khan

    Majid Khan
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone aware of what's happening with this Sony V42 plasma?

    I was told by my local Sony Centre that this plasma will not be released.. as Sony have discontinued plasmas..

    But just looking around the other day, I came across this site which is selling the V42 but says its a 'limited edition' plasma and only a small quantity will be available.

    http://www.stoneaudio.co.uk/stoneaudio/products/details.asp?product=1650

    Its priced at £1545.. and is HD-Ready with HDMI...
     
  14. Sandman

    Sandman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,189
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +730
    For £1500 I would buy a 42PWD7, a freeview box and a surround sound system. If you de this you will be getting yourself a whole new "home cinema" instead of just a new tv. AV-Sales will sell you a screen for £1150 including a 3 year warranty, stand (or wall mount) and a connection board (try and get a scart one). Get a freeview box and a surround system with scart output and you are good to go. Connect surround sound and freeview to screen using a scart switcher (very cheap in asda).
    If avsales dont have any left, richer sounds will sell you the screen for £999, get a wall mount from ebay for £50, a scart board from ebay for £80, a £60 freeview box, a decent surround/dvd system for about £200 and you will still have £100 left over for cables.
    Thats is what I did anyway and I am over the moon with my set up.
     
  15. dickst3

    dickst3
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2005
    Messages:
    504
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +4
    it depends what your requirements are. i have the pwd7 as sandman suggested and am very happy with it. some say that the panel only plasmas offer better PQ :) the panel only also looks better (imho) because it consists of only the (black) frame without speakers etc.
     
  16. AFSTER

    AFSTER
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,506
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +53
    Its just if i get freeview box then the wires will show when attached on the wall lol, as i have already plastered over the scart cable for tv to dvd player

    the sony dvd player has surround sound and dts and everything with it, so couldnt i just plug the tv into that use he speakers from that
     
  17. Jim_Fear

    Jim_Fear
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,799
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Caterham
    Ratings:
    +59
    Or just grab the 42" PE50-WALL with built in freeview =)
     
  18. Sandman

    Sandman
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2002
    Messages:
    3,189
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +730
    No, you will only need 1 scart cable going to the tv. Get a scart switch box (about £8) and connect both freeview and the dvd player to this then there will be only 1 scart cable going from this to the tv. Remember the PWD7 doesnt have speakers though so the surround/dvd system is required.
     
  19. AFSTER

    AFSTER
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,506
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +53
    ahh didnt think about it like that Sandman

    i basically paying a bit of money and wana make sure i get a good screen

    anything future proof it a bonus :)
     
  20. colindale

    colindale
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    99
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have you ever danced with the devil in the pale moonlight?

    Ahhh and she was gorgeous, memories :rolleyes:
     
  21. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    Afster, it's not the TV only that needs to be future proof! You have shot yourself in the foot. Get the plaster out again, WHATEVER plasma you put up there, you MUST have HDMI or DVI cable to it. PE50 is in no way future proof, no 720p on any input, and no digital input anyway. Just a scart cable is no way to wire for any flat panel. What about power too, while you are there?
     
  22. AFSTER

    AFSTER
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,506
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +53
    I have got power and arial on the wall, like in the middle so the plasma will cover it then one end of scar next to the power and then other end is at the bottom to connect to the dvd player
     
  23. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    All you can do with that is a PE50 or similar. No hi def, no future proof, no x-box 360, progressive scan DVD, PS3. Like has been said, your only option is a scart switch at the bottom. I suppose a PW7 could work, but an 8 would be wasted.
     
  24. AFSTER

    AFSTER
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,506
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +53
    anybody know anywhere that like buy now pay next year?

    thinking about maybe just getting the PV500
     
  25. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    You'll still need to dig out for at least one more cable.
     
  26. lami

    lami
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I was in the same boat as you mate! I had £1500 to spend but didn't know what to get! Anyway I ended up paying an extra £12 and getting this!

    http://www.comet.co.uk/comet/html/cache/455_267325.html

    Its HD ready and has the freeview! If thats what your looking for thats what your looking for thats what it's got! I read a few threads about this model on here before purchasing it! Happy Buying!
     
  27. AFSTER

    AFSTER
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2005
    Messages:
    1,506
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +53
    lami, thats what i was looking at before when started

    i have a 26 inch LCD of that and HDTV

    so the quality good then, il be about 7ft from the screen, so dont wana get some thats gona look bad

    i dont know what to do lol, i am even thinking about just wacking out and getting the new Pioneer and if i can pay next year
     
  28. tscotsman

    tscotsman
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2004
    Messages:
    848
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    MAW can you give me some advice, Is there any advantage in considering a scaler with the Pv500? How would you suggest I link Sky to the Pv500, for the time being it will be RGB Scart, would scart to component be the best option? Also can the Pv500 be suitably adjusted to require a ISF done? Thanks for all the help m8, your advice is appreciated as is everyones.
     
  29. MAW

    MAW
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2002
    Messages:
    14,082
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Nr Dorking
    Ratings:
    +412
    A scaler is a small advantage with any plasma, I've never tried one with a PV500. Just how much advantage you will see dpends on things I have never experimented with. Usually Panasonic TV plasmas have quite good RGB scart, not like a XDE for example, which IMHO only really shows its capabilities on digital inputs. It'd be interesting to compare and contrast digital 720p to native XGA on analogue PC input on your plasma. I believe PV500s are a pain in the butt for ISF, but can be done. Gordon or Piers would probably tuck a Lumagen under their arm and do their best to sell it to you, if you see what I mean! I guess that would be Gordon in fact?
     

Share This Page

Loading...