1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need a new Sky box

Discussion in 'Sky Digital TV Forum' started by PaulBrum, Apr 29, 2003.

  1. PaulBrum

    PaulBrum
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Messages:
    138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Solihull
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hiya,

    Got sky digital and i could do with a new box to match all my new silver kit !!!!

    Second hand will be fine, presumably i can get one off ebay.

    What make/model should i be looking for?

    Any suggestions would be good - rest of kit Sony KV32FQ70 tv and davs 550 dvd/surround system (all in silver!!)

    Paul
     
  2. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    There are Sony Sky digiboxes -- that also have the benefit of digital audio via optical connector.

    I have one myself, they are the best looking Sky digibox IMHO.

    Search eBay to find second hand ones -- although these are popular and hard to get hold of so you may end up paying > £200 for one.

    StooMonster
     
  3. PaulBrum

    PaulBrum
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Messages:
    138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Solihull
    Ratings:
    +2
    can i just put in my existing viewing card - will it work?
     
  4. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    Put your Sky card in new digibox, and then phone Sky and tell them that you have changed digibox. They will ask you to read out serial numbers from service menu, then they will activate it and it takes half-an-hour or so.

    Easy as pie.

    StooMonster
     
  5. PaulBrum

    PaulBrum
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2003
    Messages:
    138
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Solihull
    Ratings:
    +2
    Will I be able to sell my old box, or will sky want it back?
     
  6. Fernsehman

    Fernsehman
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    It belongs to you so you can sell it. But a word of advice: a lot of Digiboxes fail when they cool down*. So switch off the 230v power socket and let it cool down for a few hours. Switch it back on and wait for it to reboot. If it works OK you can sell it, safe in the knowledge that it should work when the new owner plugs it in.

    * Grundigs are the worst for this, although they are relatively easy and cheap to fix with a satcure kit.

    Fman
     
  7. beelzebub

    beelzebub
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a silver digibox for sale. Make me an offer. It works fine, everthings there except a card, obviously.
     
  8. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Ebay are expensive, Panasonic also do some nice silver boxes and theres always Sky+ dont rush into a £200 second hand box when the Sky+ price maybe dropping!
     
  9. swarrans

    swarrans
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Messages:
    404
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Kent, UK
    Ratings:
    +0
    Your advice is probably right for most people Hornydragon, but the thing I can't stand about most of the Sky and terrestrial boxes (eg new PACE Twin) is that they're not the "standard" hifi box width - so if like me you have them in a single upright rack it looks awful IMHO. Therefore I have a Sony Sky box and it looks cool with my other silver amps, Tivo, VCR and DVD!
    I realise this is probably a minority view and perhaps most people just want them as small as possible.

    £200 sounds a lot for a 2nd hand digigbox though, I agree. Glad I got my Sony for "nothing" when I subscribed to Sky originally! (actually was £120 I suppose as I subscribed to the minimum package for 12 months, then cancelled)

    Simon
     
  10. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    That gets on my wick to Swarrans I have all black kit and my pace being narrower looks a bit silly I think the asthetics of the kit in the room makes abig deal to me (missus lets me have it!!!) I just think that it might be better to wait especially as the 2nd generation Sky+ is on its way!
     
  11. ranar

    ranar
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2003
    Messages:
    114
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hounslow West Market - Every Sunday - Guy on a stall sells new and second hand digiboxes + TVs + VCRs (think he runs a tv/sat shop during the week) - a couple of weeks ago, he still had some Sony V760s for 170 quid (new and boxed).....
     

Share This Page

Loading...