Need a little advice

fordsta

Standard Member
Hi people ive been looking into getting a home cinema system for my samsung a656 as the sound from the tv is very poor. It will be hooked up to a ps3 which i use for both movies and games. I started out looking at an all one system then i ventured into this forum and ive been looking at amplifiers. Im a noob when it comes to audio stuff but I already own a sub and a set of five speakers that i used with my pc. Heres the set i own

Creative Inspire 5.1 5100 - Audio Output with reviews and price comparison at dooyoo.co.uk

Its not the greatest set in the world as you can, My main question if i bought a seperate amplifer something like a Marantz 4002 would i be able to use my existing speakers and sub with it. Like i said im a noob with this stuff so i dont even know wether thats all i need to get it to work let alone wether the speakers will be good enough for something like the marantz. Ive only got a budget of about £200 to £350. So if the answers no, its cheap and chearfull all in one system i come.

Anyone help a noob out.

dante01

Distinguished Member
Creative Labs claims 6 Watts RMS power output per satellite and 12 Watts RMS for the subwoofer

:eek:

I suspect the speakers will not be suitable. The sub will be vastly underpowered even if it can be attached to a AV amp and the satellites will probably blow if attached to anything other than the Creative Labs Inspire unit?

davepuma

Distinguished Member
You should be able to get something with that budget. It's just a shame that you didn't consider upgrading a few months back when there were amps and speakers in stock and at decent prices.

As for packages, what about:

Onkyo HTX-22HD - It's 2.1 but you can add the other speakers for £99 later when you have some more funds.

Sony HT-SF1300