Need a little advice please.

addyb

Distinguished Member
Hi all, first post on these forums so try not to flame me (too much!!)
Anyway im going to be purchasing a projector in the next few weeks so have been busy doing some research on the net. Ive got up to speed (i think) with all the tech specs etc and seen a few model names banded about.
Im basically after a decent projector that i can hook my laptop up to so i play some games in a much larger format. I also would like to hook the projector up to my dvd player/cable so i can watch some films/sports etc.
I have around £1000 to spend but would prefer to spend less than this if possible.
I've seen so many differing opinions on various models whether they be LCD or DLP. I just wouldnt mind some advice on whats a suitable projector to fit my needs above in the price bracket. A few people have said get the "Toshiba TDP-S9 DLP Projector" but as im a total noob with these id prefer to come to the experts/experienced buyers on these forums!
I have done a good search on this site and not found the answers im looking for as of yet. Can anyone give me a few ideas?

Anim

DLP produces a very film like picture and LCD tends to be sharper and brighter hence why LCD projectors are more popular for connecting to a computer.

So

First off I would say look at LCD projectors.

Is your budget just for the projector or everything (screen, cables etc)?

I would work towards getting a 1280x720 res projector as a start too.

Maybe a Hitachi PJ-TX100 for less than £850?

Edit: Or a Z3, pixmania still list them in stock

addyb

Distinguished Member
Anim said:
DLP produces a very film like picture and LCD tends to be sharper and brighter hence why LCD projectors are more popular for connecting to a computer.

So

First off I would say look at LCD projectors.

Is your budget just for the projector or everything (screen, cables etc)?

I would work towards getting a 1280x720 res projector as a start too.