Need a graphics card to run 3 1080p displays

Discussion in 'General TV Discussions Forum' started by dcuk7, May 3, 2007.

  1. dcuk7

    dcuk7
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,

    Can anyone recommend a graphics card for a PC that would be able to run 3 1080p Samsung HD-TV's (having the desktop split across the 3)?

    Thanks.
     
  2. DrugstoreCowboy

    DrugstoreCowboy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    1,046
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Location:
    Bedford
    Ratings:
    +97
    you could use multiple cards for that, PCI cards are still available
     
  3. Member 79251

    Member 79251
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    13,421
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    ?
    Ratings:
    +2,187
    Hello and welcome to the forum.

    What do you need the tv's to show ?
    Are you feeding video to these tvs or do you want to show the desktop at 1080p?
    Also how big are these tv's and what you using them for ?

    Example, I feed my 32" Lcd content at 720p, the Lcd is only about 6ft+ away so its perfect for my viewing position. My desktop is only set at 1024 x 768 at its only when I play video that my computer outputs to 720p.
     
  4. dcuk7

    dcuk7
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi guys, thanks for the quick response.

    Basically we have this bespoke CAD application that we want to run across 3 displays at the highest resolution possible. The screens are 40" Samsung LE40F71BX TV's so ideally we'd want the desktop to output at 1080p x 3 across the screens.

    The screens will be wall mounted in a conference room so the more space we have to display things in our CAD application the better. Very occasionally we might run a PowerPoint presentation on them but if we did I imagine we'd just output it to the middle display.

    I was thinking of maybe using SLI or CrossFire to do it but I just need to make sure it would be able to do it before I buy! :)
     
  5. Neil Davidson

    Neil Davidson
    Well-known Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,064
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +504
    might be worth also looking at some of the specialised stuff from Matrox as well.

    Neil
     
  6. dcuk7

    dcuk7
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I will take a look at Matrox but I am on a budget of around £4000 so I cannot go too much over that (3 TV's plus wall brackets were £3200)!

    I might go for two X1950 Pro 512MB cards in Crossfire config. Anyone had any experience with these cards in a similar scenario?
     
  7. badas

    badas
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    those cards are good, but you have £800 left so you could go for 2 8800 GTX's in SLI mode, will the cad be projected from the tv's from a single PC??? what spec is the PC because hte thing you are going to have to take into consideration is weather the PC can support PCI along with is it powerful enough to eve nrun new components?

    so whats ur spec of hte PC/s u r using????

    one website i would say for you to post the same question os is:

    http://www.pcpro.co.uk/

    very good site and they will help out alot better.
     
  8. onewingedangel

    onewingedangel
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2003
    Messages:
    439
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +36
    sli/crossfire cannot be used alongside both cards outputs.

    Does your CAD program use the gpu or just cpu power?

    If just cpu power buy two cheap graphics cards (if the motherboard only has one pcie x16 you can cut a pcie x1 slot to accomodate the card if its only for display)

    If you require gpu power, a single high performance card to render paired with a cheap card as an additional 2d display would be the best solution.

    If you need gpu performance across all 3 monitors then matrox make an external box (matrix tripleplay) that allows you to scale a single video feed (5760x1080 for 3 1080p screens), here you can use either a single gpu or crossfire/sli as you are only using one cards output).
     

Share This Page

Loading...