1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need a good 5.1 system

Discussion in 'Home Cinema Buying & Building' started by jeffers81, Mar 6, 2005.

1. jeffers81

jeffers81

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

I have a good 37" LCD TV and DVD etc. Now I want a surround sound system. From what I've seen however, they all seem to come with DVD recorders or players - but I don't want that - I just want the speakers and subwoofer.

Is this possible?! :thumbsup:

Thanks
    Mark

2. Jpfahy

Jpfahy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anything is possible, the only governing factor is how full your wallet is ;)

Best way to go is seperates, Amp, Speakers and Subwoofer so you can upgrade stuff gradually.

3. jeffers81

jeffers81

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, I'm a noob to all this audio stuff. I have quite a fat wallet for this project - I presume it's a good idea to go for the same make for the amp, speakers and subwoofer? :D

Any recommendations (medium to large budget)?

Cheers

4. Jpfahy

Jpfahy

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Might be an idea to change your thread title to "Need a REALLY GOOD 5.1 System (£5000+)" if you're talking big money.
    I'm sure the audiophiles here will swarm in with lots of advice then.

I ain't one BTW (got cloth ears unfortunately ;) )

5. jeffers81

jeffers81

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    No I'm not talking that large a budget :D

I want something really good, and can spend upto £1000 if needs be. I get the impression I might not really be able to tell much of a difference though if the prices become silly.

I'd rather spend £500 obviously, but can spend more and want something very good. :lease:

6. jeffers81

jeffers81

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
  7. Jpfahy

Jpfahy