1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Need a 56K v.90 modem

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by ice_cool, Sep 6, 2002.

  1. ice_cool

    ice_cool
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi there,

    Upgrading my win 98 pc to windows 2000 pro, and everything is ok apart from the 56K modem (only supports upto win98).

    So i need a new modem that supports V.90 and win 200 pro.

    Any suggestions? Thanks.
     
  2. Chris Muriel

    Chris Muriel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,096
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +711
    I can't suggest makes/models , but make sure that it's a "real modem" i.e. a hardware modem rather than one of these "softmodems" or winmodems that performs the DSP functions by stealing MIPS or cycles from your CPU.

    Chris Muriel, Manchester.
     
  3. petrolhead

    petrolhead
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Messages:
    4,477
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +81
    cant go wrong with Zoom (ex hayes),

    US Robotics (Now 3 COM)
    &

    Diamond
     
  4. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    It would seem you are a bit behind the times here ice_cool. What you really want is a v.92 modem which 'theoretically' runs at the max upload speeds as well as download speeds. It's worth getting a v.92 rather than just a v.90. Price differeneces are nill.

    I myself have a Diamond Supra Express 56iPro v.90.

    Can fully back recommendations of petrolhead.
     
  5. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,041
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,113
    Same here but W2K identifies mine as a sony modem and the driver it then installs doesn't work. There is a relevant driver for this in W2K but you have to select it manually. ( quite handy though as mine only arrived with 98 driver which didn't work on W2K anyway)

    Works fine though once its in.
     
  6. Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've got a couple of 56K ISA hardware modems doing nowt. I could let one go for £20 inc., if you're interested. They're prob. an Askey V1456 variant, as I used to have a few of them. Great modems.

    Mike.
     
  7. DazJWood

    DazJWood
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2002
    Messages:
    176
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    19
    Location:
    Coventry
    Ratings:
    +0
    A brand new 56.6 modem PCI will cost you all of £16 from a computer fair.

    Even though these are mostly non branded the performance difference in my opinion is nil.

    I have a branded diamond modem that cost £80 new and a £18 pound non-branded modem. These both perform equally as well.

    As pointed out earlier just ensure that you go for a hardware modem as opposed to a software modem which utilises some of your CPUs processing to function.

    Try and aim to get one with a recognised chipset for extra confidence. Rockwell used to be the referred choice amongst most people. These have since been taken over by Conexant.

    Ensure if you are using a recent operating system that you have the correct drivers. Out of all the hardware a computer can contain modems certainly have given me the most headaches. They do require the correct drivers and very rarely work of a generic driver.

    Check out

    www.theshowguide.co.uk

    these list the computer shows in your area and certainly are one of the best source for cheap components (quality components too if you are careful and research what you buy)
     
  8. Bogside

    Bogside
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,995
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Stockport (ex Derry)
    Ratings:
    +362
    I'm looking to buy my first ever modem; and I've no idea what I'm looking for.

    I want to be able to connect to just normal width internet and ideally I want an internal rather than external modem.

    So my questions are:

    How can I tell the difference between "hardware" and "software" modems?

    What benefit do I get from more expensive makes?

    I've seen this one here:

    www.pcsuppliesuk.co.uk/cgi-bin/pric...ription=&searchgroup=modems internal/External

    It only costs £18 but will it do the job?

    I apologise if this seems completely clueless but as I said this is my first ever modem purchase.
     
  9. petrolhead

    petrolhead
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2002
    Messages:
    4,477
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    Newcastle
    Ratings:
    +81
    Would this not have been better as a new thread?
     
  10. Bogside

    Bogside
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2002
    Messages:
    2,995
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Stockport (ex Derry)
    Ratings:
    +362
    done. I was just trying to find people who might be able to help me.:confused:
     

Share This Page

Loading...