1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

NEC VR5 connections

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by philthyanimal, Jan 25, 2005.

  1. philthyanimal

    philthyanimal
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm about to order an NEC vr5 but just a quick question.
    The 5 BNC inputs. I know to use a sync blaster scart to 5 bnc cable, but was just wondering if i could use an rgb to component converter and use an rca to bnc component cable out of the converter?
    Oh, and whats the DVI input like on the NEC?
     
  2. pajare

    pajare
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    147
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    LEEDS
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi

    Just ordered my NEC42 VM5 from the very helpful Matt at Nexnix.If you are ordering from them he can tell you what cables you need for the gear you are going to connect and also supply them. I have ordered a HDMi to DVi cable ( for Pioneer 868i DVD ) and a scart to RGBS ( 4 BNC to scart for NTL cable ) on his advice.

    Cheers-----Will

    By the way Nexnix do a nice desktop swivel stand that is much neater than NEC one.
     
  3. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,694
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +606
    The NEC units can take a scart input (well, RGBand composite sync).
    You can either input this on the BNCs or you can input it on the vga input.

    So £20 cable and no transcoding to be done, so you should get even better results.
     
  4. Mojito

    Mojito
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2004
    Messages:
    192
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Moscow
    Ratings:
    +3
    If you are ordering VR5, don't buy HDMI-DVI cable, it is supplied with the screen. Just in case ;)
     
  5. philthyanimal

    philthyanimal
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    so the view here is one of those scart to 5 bnc cables is my best bet.
    Anyone recommend a good one?
     
  6. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,694
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +606
  7. peezee

    peezee
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    d'you have a link? Can't find a pic of the stand on the Nexnix site. The base NEC plasma "feet" are just horrendous, totally ruins the nice design effect... :eek:

    Does the swivel stand look s'thing like this below?

    [​IMG]
     
  8. pajare

    pajare
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    147
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    LEEDS
    Ratings:
    +1
    Yes I think thats the same one only mine will be black to match VM5

    Regards-----------Will
     
  9. peezee

    peezee
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    neat, thanks! :)
     
  10. BALLISTIX

    BALLISTIX
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    You don't need 5 BNC's.

    You need scart to 4 BNC (RGB+Sync)

    One here too http://www.lektropacks.co.uk/dept.asp?dept_id=201

    SCART OUT 4 X BNC (Red/Green/Blue/Sync)
    Order Code:- PSCRGBSO

    Regards
    Andy.
     
  11. Fozz

    Fozz
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2004
    Messages:
    76
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Dublin, Ireland
    Ratings:
    +4
    I'm also hoping to order one of these from NexNix soon.
    I would be hooking an NTL Digital Box to the screen so I presume I should go with that SCART to 4 BNC (RGB+Sync) for that.
    Should the PQ be good with that?
    What about auto screen size switching for different wide-screen broadcasts?

    Then I would also be hooking a DVD player to the screen.
    Would you suggest I use component for that or would a DVD player than can output DVI be better?
    I have yet to buy a DVD player so am in the market for a decent Progressive Scan (and Region Free) player with a good video output type to hook to the VR5.
    Any suggestions :lease:

    Cheers.
    Ciaran.
     
  12. BALLISTIX

    BALLISTIX
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Fozz, I went for the Panny DMR-E85 DVDR.

    If your going to get a DVD you could go:

    NTL scart > DVD scart > DVD out to plasma via 3xRCA - 3xRCA component cable, you would need to keep your DVD on to watch TV.

    If you want your DVD in standby whilst watching TV, then you would also need the scart > 4BNC lead to connect NTL box direct to the NEC.

    Regards
    Andy.
     
  13. lawrenso

    lawrenso
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,155
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Flintshire
    Ratings:
    +35
    Fozz/Ballistix

    If your NTL Box has pass through (SKY + has), do it the other way round - DVD-NTLBOX-SCREEN, and you will not need to have the DVD on to get the signal. If the DVD is on to get a signal, it will be the DVD Signal, you need something that passes through when in standby/off

    Cheers

    Lawrenso
     
  14. Vipen

    Vipen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Messages:
    779
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    hey guys, just leaning towards a nice VM5 right now, can you just advice on these connections.

    is there an audio out? i want to use 2 unpowered speakers so i don't have to turn on amp every time (usually pop in and stick news on at lunchtime).

    i have an xbox which is not chipped (UK). what's the way to connect? i have at current just scart with optical lead into my amp on it.

    i need a dvd player and also may switch from ntl to sky+.

    so there's three main connections where i can only see a way of connecting two devices from what i've read. but i know little so any advice would be appreciated.

    oh, and i have a NAD T752 amp for what it's worth.

    thanx

    ps. like that stand better, looks like i'll be nexnixing soon :thumbsup:
     
  15. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    but means recording in composite only and no RGB>component conversion (but fine witha DVD player)
     
  16. lawrenso

    lawrenso
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2003
    Messages:
    1,155
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Flintshire
    Ratings:
    +35
    I bow to your wisdom Hornydragon, as I said I use Sky+ which has RGB passthrough on it, and my DVD Player at the end (won't be watching Sky if watching a DVD). I do have a DVD Recorder, but admit this is quite redundant now that I have SKY+ (I am a true Sky+ believer - even my wife can use it after a fasion :D :D

    lawrenso

    PS Can't wait to hear your review of your megatest :smashin:
     
  17. peezee

    peezee
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    back to the swivel stand thing... called "NEC OnLine" France today (not sure they actually belong to NEC) who tells me the swivel stand only comes in silver - not in black. This confirms what retailers tell me.

    Are you 100% positive you're going to get a black swivel stand for your 42VM5, or this thing below (Ref. 6925660000?) instead...?? :confused: :eek:

    [​IMG]
     
  18. pajare

    pajare
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2004
    Messages:
    147
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    LEEDS
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Peezee

    Plasma and cables turned up today but the stand they sent was the black NEC one. I phoned Matt Gee at Nexnix and after checking up he confirmed the swivel stand is only available in silver, so I am getting the silver swivel stand and will probably get it sprayed to suit.

    Regards ----Will
     
  19. peezee

    peezee
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    sh.t ! That's what I feared... :suicide: Well, thanx anyway.

    Hmm, not sure I will want to do the spraying thing on an elegantly designed stand (but I'm sure I don't want the ugly looking black "stand on its feet" either :blush: ).

    I usually leave a little dim light when watching movies on TV (i.e. not in a dark room), wonder if the silver bezel could be an issue compared with a black bezel (contrast et all...)... :confused: Anyone cares to comment on silver vs black bezel vs pic quality?

    OTOH the vast majority of "design" TV stands (ya know, glass and metal) do have silver parts, not black, so... Looks like the choice is going to be b/w silver or else... silver! :rolleyes:
     
  20. Duffers0

    Duffers0
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    My school boy error.

    Nexnix supplied my RGB Scart to 4 phono lead and 3 BNC adapters. Gave me instructions to RGB on the BNC inputs and sync on the composite video input.
    Beaware you can only sync on the HD BNC or the BNC video input (1)

    Been bl**dy watching composite for the last 3 weeks, wondered why the Sky picture was so rubbish!!

    Bought another BNC adapter and found sync on the HD bnc slightly better, or imagined it was better!!

    RGB bit more noisy than composite but better edge definition and less of that horrible false contouring.

    I am still fiddling with settings all of the time to try and improve Sky anybody feel they have a good setup on the VR5??
     
  21. nheather

    nheather
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    14,972
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Horsham, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +4,177
    Can anyone confirm the complete set of inputs available on the VR5. From this thread I can gather

    (a) R + G + B + CompSync
    (b) DVI (or is HDMI)
    (c) VGA

    Are there any others - what about component ?

    Is it still better to use SCART>VGA (like with the Pany) or is RGB + Sync just as good ?

    Cheers,

    Nigel
     
  22. Loada

    Loada
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    585
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Guisborough, North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +48
  23. philthyanimal

    philthyanimal
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    duffers, are now using a scart to 4 bnc adapter?
    Don't you need a "sync blaster" scart to 5 bnc?
    I'm still a little confused
     
  24. Vipen

    Vipen
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2002
    Messages:
    779
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    can you believe i've only gone and ordered the alpahason elegant piano black plasma stand!!! to go with my black nec and black stand (not the nec one).

    so if they haven't got a plain stand, hmmm. are those feet really that bad??? may have to get silver nec on my nice black stand. goddamit :thumbsdow
     
  25. BALLISTIX

    BALLISTIX
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Sync blaster not needed m8.
    NEC accepts RGB+Sync on the BNC component input.

    Andy
     
  26. philthyanimal

    philthyanimal
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    So one of the van damme scart to 4 bnc's from avsales would do the job?
    the nec has the rgb + h and v. I take it this is horizontal and vertical(probably wrong) which one is the sync?
    Sorry for the dumb questions but i'm ready to order for next week as i'll be off work and want to install it then.
     
  27. peezee

    peezee
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Vipen, far as I know the 42VM5 on its black stand should look like this:

    [​IMG]



    while the 42VR5 on its newly designed stand (model above also exists in silver btw, gotta be careful when ordering) should look like this:

    [​IMG]


    It's all a matter of taste of course, so though I have a strong preference I won't comment :D , other than the silver stand is of swivel type, can be very convenient at home. Too bad it's not available in dark grey... :(

    I'm not 100% sure that the above is fully accurate (I'm not a NEC retailer after all) so I'd suggest you check all this with yr vendor before making any decision, don't want to be causing any unnecessary trouble here... ;)
     
  28. nheather

    nheather
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    14,972
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Horsham, West Sussex
    Ratings:
    +4,177
    Loada

    Thanks very much for the manual. If I understand it correctly it has the following connections:

    RGB1 - (D Sub) RGB + Green or Composite Syncs
    DVD1/HD1 - (Phono) Component
    DVD2/HD2/RGB2 - (BNC) Component or RGB + Composite Sync
    DVD3/DD3/HGB3 - (DVI-D) Don't really understand this one

    So with Sky+ (RGB SCART), Freeview (RGB SCART) and DVD (Componet) does this mean I could connect them as follows and not need an external switch box

    DVD > DVD1/HD1 (Need a phono to phono)
    SKY+ > RGB1 (Need a SCART to 15 pin Sub-D)
    Freeview > DVD2/HD2/RGB2 (Need a SCART to BNC)

    Cheers,


    Nigel
     
  29. peezee

    peezee
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Btw, found out last night on the US AVSforum that there are more differences b/w the silver VR5 (consumer oriented) and the dark grey VM5 ("Pro"). Can't trace back the exact post but I kept a copy of the rather complete list of these differences (see below).

    So it's not just about the colour or the plasma stand, the VR5 definitely has attributes that are more specific to a home usage, while the VM5 has many capabilities that really only apply in a Pro environment (public dispplay, entreprise, ....). Very interesting that post, many thanks the guy/gal who wrote it, whoever he/she is... :)

     
  30. Duffers0

    Duffers0
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    If using the BNC's then sync on either H (horizontal) or video connect no 1 (again the BNC one at the top).

    This equates to either scart 1 or 2 in the BNC connector setup menu

    Basically the BNC's can be used for either RGB or component depending on choice in the setup menu. :thumbsup:
     

Share This Page

Loading...