1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

NEC VR5: 1280x720@50 works fine

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by cj, Feb 1, 2005.

  1. cj

    cj
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,457
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +74
    Well fed up with all the recent negativity on this screen I pulled in my Crystalio from my projector room, hooked it up to my NEC VM5, switched the output resolution from 1280x720@60 to 1280x720@50 and got a picture right away. It was initally offset compared to the 60hz signal, but after about 30 seconds playing with the settings we have a great picture, with no FRC.

    In fact we're all currently watching the Arsenal vs. Man United game at 1280x720@50hz, and no one's complaining one bit :) I even used the Sky+ box via S-Video (and not SDI) and the picture looks fine.

    Bear in mind I own both a Panasonic PW7 and a NEC VM5, so am not trying to validate my purchase - I like them both :)

    The VR5/VM5 DOES accept 1280x720@50hz via DVI, and the PW7 currently does not.

    P.S. Cracking game - now 2-3 to Man United.
     
  2. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,011
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,808
  3. cj

    cj
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,457
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +74
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    cj interesting looks like there is more work to be done here. Particulary with the XR3/XM3 screens
     
  5. cj

    cj
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,457
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +74
    Well IMO the VM5/VR5 is a cracking screen and doesn't deserve the negative press it's been getting here in the last few days. It's cheaper, comes with far more connection options than the PW7 - you can even connect it via RGB SCART according to the manual (with the right cable) - and has a far better chance of being compatible with Sky HD at the moment than the PW7 (which currently has NO chance via DVI unless you shell out nearly £1000 on an external scaler).

    Yes the PW7 is a great screen also, and people might prefer the picture to the NEC, but there are just so many factors involved in getting a "better picture" and I think having a level playing field when comparing them is nigh on impossible.

    Yes I've had the PW7 (and PW4 before that) in MY living room, fed with MY sources, setup by ME. I'm a long way off from being an expert, but my family and I have over 5000 hours "normal" viewing on the Pannys, and we're just as happy with the VM5 currently on the wall, and equally my parents' are enjoying my PW7 on their wall.
     
  6. Taz69

    Taz69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,359
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +55
    Excuse my ignorance CJ, but what is the "Crystalio" ? and what does it do to enable the NEC to display 720p/50 ?

    Cheers

    Taz
     
  7. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,011
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,808
    it's a scaler. It takes in one resolution and sticks out another...CJ has set his to stick out 720@50.

    Gordon
     
  8. Taz69

    Taz69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,359
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +55

    Cheers m8, does that mean to display 720p/50 on the NEC, I would have to buy a scaler like the PW7 needs, making it another grand on top or ?

    Taz
     
  9. cj

    cj
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,457
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +74
    Here we go again :)

    No it doesn't - I was just using my Crystalio to output a 1280x720/50 signal as I don't have any other device that is capable.

    The PW7 currently cannot accept a 1280x720/50 signal via DVI and you would have to buy a scaler to convert the 1280x720/50 signal to a 1280x720/60 signal that the PW7 does accept.

    We still can't conclude that the NEC will 100% be able to display the output directly from the SKy HD box via DVI - we won't know until it makes an appearance and someone tries it. But the PW7 currently has no chance, unless you buy a scaler.
     
  10. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,011
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,808
    Not necessarly. CJ did this test as there has been some speculation that NEC are falsely advertising the 720P@50 compatablity of this panel. The reality is that 720P@50 can take many forms......and those testing so far have not been able get the panel to sync with their sources. We'll have to wait for HD 720@50 to find out definatively about compatablity with SKY HD but for now we know it's more than capable of working....given a little time and patience.

    Gordon
     
  11. Taz69

    Taz69
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2002
    Messages:
    2,359
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Bristol
    Ratings:
    +55
    Cool, thanks Cj and Gordon, I know its been played to the death about this HD compliant etc, but at least it sounds promising

    Thanks for your replies guys

    Taz
     
  12. BALLISTIX

    BALLISTIX
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Gordon, NEC do not advertise that the VR/VM will work at 720@50Hz, just thought I'd point that out.

    Regards
    Andy
     
  13. Gordon @ Convergent AV

    Gordon @ Convergent AV
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2000
    Messages:
    14,011
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Living in Surrey, covering UK!
    Ratings:
    +2,808
    Well there you go.....I read all the crap about them and presumed(never presume) that 720P@50 Hz was a speciied supported resolution and refresh rate. It isn't?....

    Gordon
     
  14. BALLISTIX

    BALLISTIX
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    It's nowhere to be seen in my manuals Gordon.

    Regards
    Andy.
     
  15. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    just to put onw thing to bed it was the XR3 that i tried to view 720p@50 (more important that the HD panel accepted HD signls to my mind) and it would work at 50Hz ran out of time to test the VR5 unfortunately..... If people actually read the test results (long i now i wrote them) instead of scanning the text and picking on small bits and misquoating we wouldn't have half this mess.....
     
  16. BALLISTIX

    BALLISTIX
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2004
    Messages:
    117
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Onto another point, even though it does'nt concern me personally as I doubt I'll be getting sky anytime soon.
    I'm no expert so could someone explain?
    Even if the VR/VM did'nt accept 720@50Hz properly, could you not send it to the panel and let the panel convert it to 60Hz as it does on std settings? or is there more to it than that?

    Andy.
     
  17. cj

    cj
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,457
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +74
    Well I guess the "confusion" might come from posts like this from the "PW7 vs. VR5" thread: -

    This is from the "PW7 vs. VR5" thread (and not the "PW7 vs. XR3" thread). When you say "I tried that it didnt work." I assumed you'd actually tried it and it didn't work. My mistake :)

    Anyway - mostly all cleared up now :laugh:
     
  18. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    yes it seems i got my NEC model numbers slightly mixed up... Still isnt in the manual...but if it works great just a shame about the PQ IMO
     
  19. peezee

    peezee
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    hornydragon, you NEVER give up - do you? :suicide:

    cj, thanks a lot for clarifying this - yet again - and making it a clear thread title helps too. :thumbsup:
     
  20. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Well i never wave a white flag........................
     
  21. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    24,426
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,593
    NOTE TO MODS

    Please insert a NEW Rule in CJ's profile -

    Rule 01. I must NEVER post the result (or mid game score) from any big matches that Joe is recording to SKY+ to watch later in the evening :)

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  22. cj

    cj
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,457
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +74
    OMG sorry Joe - forgot some people might be recording it :blush:
     
  23. Joe Fernand

    Joe Fernand
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2002
    Messages:
    24,426
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Borders
    Ratings:
    +2,593
    Morning CJ

    Luckily enough it was still well worth watching the match!!!

    Its always the 'sources' you least expect that catch you out when your time shifting the footie I find.

    Best regards

    Joe
     
  24. Loada

    Loada
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2003
    Messages:
    585
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Guisborough, North Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +48
    To be fair, HD, it was MAW's initial write-up that implied both NEC panels had problems - although it was actually talking about the XR3. I think one of the good things coming out of the mega-test is how the VR5 has risen, phoenix-like, from the ashes of the XR3 testing and has generated a lot of discussion, much of it positive and will perhaps attract a following (in much the same way as the LG PX11 has) due to its overall features and price - competition is a good thing for the UK plasma market in general - it means better (and cheaper) screens for us all.
     
  25. KHCC

    KHCC
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    256
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +10
    Mornin'

    Due to time constraints,as Hornydragon stated, we couldn't test the VR5 with 720P @ 50Hz. I have since played with it and can confirm that the VR5 will take 720P @ 50Hz on the DVI input.

    Regards
     
  26. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    YEs well as i said my testing was done on the XR3 MAW's was done on the XM3 I think i could have been clearer in the descriptions of XR3 and VR5 and what comments applied to what....I dont doubt that it is possible to get either NEC to display some kind of picture using 720p@50Hz over DVi with HDCP I think the quality does leave a lot to be desired on the XR3 and XM3 screens...... and whether it will work with a set top box from sky is another issue..... its seems to take quite a lot of fiddling with an Iscan HD output to get it working, all I am going to say is that there is no gaurantee it will work with Sky HD until the STB's are available........and generating debate and discussion is very worthwhile.......especially when it gets members who own the kit to start playing around and trying stuff out..... Well done cj just hope you can put it all back mate......without issue
     
  27. cj

    cj
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,457
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +74
    No worries - all in and out in a few minutes. Did give me a chance to do some dusting though :)

    Does anyone know where these 2 SDI cables are supposed to go???
     
  28. Blu Ray

    Blu Ray
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    495
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    Chorley, Lancs
    Ratings:
    +12
    Surely this applies to ALL screens. There is no guarantee that any of them will work until we plug the STB into them? Not just the NEC.
     
  29. cj

    cj
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2001
    Messages:
    1,457
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +74
    Absolutely, but we know here are some screens that 100% definitely will NOT work via direct connnection DVI (unless Panasonic decide to do something about it of course).
     
  30. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,299
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Very ture, I would put money on the Pioneer TV screens working tho..............
     

Share This Page

Loading...