1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

NEC 6PG (Imager 601e) Convergence Problem

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by microsoftie, Jun 17, 2004.

1. microsoftie

microsoftie

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi guys, I'm new to this forum so please be gentle :)

I bought a GE Imager 601e on e-Bay last year and have been very pleased with it (especially as I only paid £800). Problem is, recently it has developed a convergence problem on the red tube. It's fine when first powered on but after about 5 mins, the red convergence just pops and fails to respond to any input from the remote (temperature sensistive). I have some experience with electronics and have narrowed the fault down to the C-Drive board. If I apply pressure to the board near the ribbon connector I can get the fault to disappear but alas this is only temporary.

I was wondering if anyone has had similar problems and whether the concensus is that I have one or more cracked tracks on the board or possibly a dry joint (my initial assumption). In my experience these are extremely hard to rectify so unless I can get hold of a replacement board....

Anyone know if spares are available for this model in the UK?

I'd be very grateful for any help on this.

Cheers,

Jon.

2. microsoftie

microsoftie

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK apparently this is a known fault with the NEC. The STK392-040 video processing modules overheat and eventually give up the ghost. I've ordered a couple of replacements from visonaids.co.uk. This was before I came across helipilot's excellent guide to spares - grandata.co.uk is selling them for £5.00 less :suicide: