1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

NEC 6PG Help Please

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by microsoftie, Jun 22, 2004.

1. microsoftie

microsoftie

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm fairly new to the CRT game and have an NEC 6PG which I've ceiling mounted and paired with a 100" 4:3 screen. I watch mainly DVD's and the occasional SKY movie. The PJ has RGB inputs and in order to accommodate a wide variety of input material I decided to buy a Zinwell Briteview videoscaler.This will scale up to 1280 x 1024 but the PJ will not lock on at this freq and anyway the sweet spot seems to be the PAL+ mode which is simliar to 720p at 1024 x 768.

Does anyone have a view on whether this setup is OK or whether I could get higher performance by maybe ditching the Briteview for something else. The results seem OK but sometimes the detail looks a little soft to me.

Any help gratefully received!

2. gizlaroc

gizlaroc

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +667
    You will get a much sharper image from a 6PG by going 800x600, you should not be able to see any scanlines from your seating position at this resolution.

Do a complete install with this resolution, for both Pal and NTSC and see if that is any better.

Have you made sure your focus, astig etc. are all spot on ?? these NEC's can produce very good images if set up well.

Once set up at a correect resolution for that projector and if you are still not happy then I would look at tracking down a used lumagen or even an iscan pro, that would be far better than the Briteview.

I had an NEC XG and that is considerably sharper than the 6PG, and I used to find of the most pleasing images on that was line doubled, sky and dvd is just too soft above doubled unless you have a pretty high end scaler imho.

3. Gordon @ Convergent AV

Gordon @ Convergent AV