Dismiss Notice
Attention AVForums app / Tapatalk users
Sadly GDPR means that, from 25th, we can no longer offer access to AVForums via the branded app or Tapatalk.
Click here for more information.

Nebula Digital Tv card on a network?????

Discussion in 'Desktop & Laptop Computers Forum' started by dealmaker, Jan 6, 2005.

  1. dealmaker

    dealmaker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2001
    Messages:
    741
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    nearly in Scotland!
    Ratings:
    +1
    Guys,

    I have a Nebula digital TV PCI card on my main PC.

    I'm now setting up a wired home network with a couple of other PC's.

    Is there any way for the other PC's to share the card and view TV programmes?...or, as I suspect, do I need to buy a card for each PC (WHICH i'M NOT GOING TO DO!).
     
  2. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,209

    Yes .
    No you don't need additional nebulas for each machine.
    And I've never used it myself.
     
  3. dealmaker

    dealmaker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2001
    Messages:
    741
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    nearly in Scotland!
    Ratings:
    +1
    Mr D,

    Thanks - so how do I go about sharing it out??

    Do I need to load drivers on other PC's?

    JUst have not got my head around how this would work??
     
  4. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,209
    You install the digiTV software on your "client" machines and then you serve to them using your "host" machine with the nebula card.

    Unlikely to work reliably over wireless but like I say I have yet to use it this way.
     
  5. dealmaker

    dealmaker
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2001
    Messages:
    741
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    nearly in Scotland!
    Ratings:
    +1
    Mr D,

    OK thanks - actually I'm going to use a hard wired connection, via a router, - so have you actually done this on your system?
     
  6. Mr.D

    Mr.D
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    11,167
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,209
    I haven't done this myself but others have . I assume all you have to do is sort out your network and any associated firewall issues. The manual for the nebula covers this.
     
  7. Epithet

    Epithet
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Dealmaker

    I have played with networking the Nebula.

    On the PC with the card installed "right click" within the window and select "settings". Choose the "Network" tab and set the pc the DigiTV Server. It is worth examining the options whilst your at it.

    Install the DigiTV software on the client PC - no need for the drivers. Run the software and it will alert you that it found no hardware. Ignore this - you can disable this alert in one of the setting options. Right click on the window select "Settings" then "Network" and set the PC to DigiTV client. Assuming the server PC is running, the client should locate it. I had to play around with the multicast setting to get the client to work propoerly. Further help at:

    http://www.nebula-electronics.com/support/help.htm

    There are certain limitations to what the client PC can watch. These limitations may be overcome by a planned hardware development by Nebula. Speak to Nebula for more information.

    Regards

    Tony
     
  8. Digger

    Digger
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    4,385
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    World Wide Supermarket
    Ratings:
    +205
    ....apologies for interrupting but i am having some trouble getting my Digitv client to see the server, and vice-versa (obviously). Everything is setup as i believe it should be. client is a wireless laptop, and all running through a Netgear wireless router with port forwarding enabled. File-sharing / ping etc works just fine. I tried multicasting option too. I have turned off XP firewall too.
    I cannot even specify the Digitv Server's IP address as the option is grayed out as the software looks for it automatically. If i could just get in there and change it I am sure it would work.

    Any ideas? (edit: I have just started a separate thread for this)
    cheers
    Dave
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice