NAS quandary: build a NAS or buy a Synology 1813+

Discussion in 'Video Streaming Boxes & Services' started by Plaverda, Feb 20, 2014.

1. Plaverda

Plaverda

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +259
    So I'm scratching my head trying to make up my mind whether I should build a NAS in an old Power Mac G5 case by flowing an unraid build video on YouTube or just save time and buy a Synology 1813+?

I am not technical in nature and have never built a PC (or even owned a PC for that matter ). But it seems pretty easy. All the NAS will be doing in storing all my ISO and music files and hosting a couple of very small websites (portfolio sites).

All served up to a couple of Mac Mini's running XBMC, PowerBook Pros, iPads etc

Any advice greatly appreciated.

2. Plaverda

Plaverda

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +259
    And here is my lounge work in progress...

image.jpg

3. next010

next010
    Distinguished Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,128
    Really you could go either way, if you got the skills and want to save money self build or cant be bothered with DIY & want tech support go with the Synology.

You can even go easier than unraid, windows 8 has a pretty nifty built in software RAID system called storage spaces that makes building a multi disk array a doddle.

4. Jon Weaver

Jon Weaver

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Born in Bristol but now in Newport, (for my sins)
    Ratings:
    +757
    I had the same dilemma and was planning on getting a cheap NAS. But a colleague talked me into buying the HP N54 micro server which currently has a cashback deal on..

I paid £90 with a 3 year onsite warranty.. I threw in a couple of 3TB WD red drives from Amazon at £80 each.. And finally today got around to installing Synology/DMS 4.3 on it. It took about 30 mins and the result is a fully feature NAS/DNLA server with RAID protected disks.