NAS or Media Jukebox?

Discussion in 'Video Streaming Boxes & Services' started by dansworldtour, Dec 30, 2011.

1. dansworldtour

dansworldtour
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know this has probably been asked a 100 times before but I'm really new at this and an opnion from people who know would be greatly appreciated.

With the wife being 6 months pregnant, I've been given the order that I need to sort out the nursery sooner rather than later. The main problem being that this was where I kept my dvd collection! (about 1000 dvds/blurays + TV series).

I currently have a WD My Book World NAS drive (1tb) where Ive been storing my music, but this isnt going to be anywhere near enough space for everything I need and I'd rather not lose too much quality for the sake of space. Id rather not have to go down the route of turning on a laptop to stream a film everytime I want to watch something...Lazy I know!

I have spent days looking over various forums for a solution and it appears that I have a choice of 3 but was wondering what would be the best in my situation.

Should I go for:

1) Something like a QNAP Nas drive with 2x 2TB drives and a media streamer, or

2) A Media Jukebox like PCH C-300 with smaller PCH for upstairs in the bedrooms I like the look of the UI on these units), or

3) As I suspect, realistically I need all 3.

Im not too worried about online content, but I am limited by funds (Who knew babies cost so much!:eek:) and time as I've got to think of a way to convince the wife it was her great idea in the first place!

Any ideas?

2. Great Fandango

Great Fandango

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +4
    There are a million and one ways to answer your question(s).

Main points are:

- You can not go wrong with a purpose built NAS such as offerings from Netgear or QNAP.

- Suggest you'll want more than 2x2Tb if you're ripping that many DVDs