NAS newbie - Advice required please!

Discussion in 'Networking & NAS' started by Steve Webb, Jan 28, 2014.

1. Steve Webb

Steve Webb

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +95
    Just purchased a Samsung BD-F6500 blu ray player due for delivery later this week, and have seen a You Tube video of someone streaming their files from a PC to the same model Blu Ray player. What I particularly liked was the ability to see cover / poster artwork rather than just a file menu, I didn't realise this was possible - told you I was a newbie!

I do not want to use a PC to stream from, so I think it's time I looked for a NAS?
    My current media is played/stored across 3 separate devices, which is a pain and confusing for the wife and kids. A used NAS would be my preference to keep costs down, by I'm really not sure what type of device I need.

My objective is to use my new Samsung Blu Ray as a one stop shop player to view/play ALL my media and retire and sell the Popcorn Hr. This would also allow me to use the PS3 exclusively for games.
    The solution must support 1080p/24hz, HD audio codecs and FLAC files.
    Importantly I'm keen to view all my movies in one place with some form of basic poster cover art (not bothered about music) and it doesn't need to be as sophisticated as YAMJ.

If it helps here's my current situation;
    I currently store my photos and home video files on an external 1tb USB HDD connected to my PS3 which I also use as my Blu Ray player.
    My MKV and blu ray files are backed up in full HD audio & video and are stored on my Popcorn Hr 210 via it's internal 1tb HDD and 2 x 1tb external USB HDD's
    I run YAMJ on the Popcorn Hr which works great in that it combines all 3 hard drives in 1 menu of movie cover artwork.
    Finally I store my Flac files on my Foxsat freesat HDR box and use it as a NAS to stream to my Onkyo Pre/Pro as it works much better than directly connecting an external USB HDD to my Onkyo.