• New Patreon Tier and Early Access Content available. If you would like to support AVForums, we now have a new Patreon Tier which gives you access to selected news, reviews and articles before they are available to the public. Read more.

NAS For Blu-Ray Streaming

AnthonyG

Distinguished Member
I am very new to the notion of NAS's.

I was just looking them over after seeing a deal on Hotukdeals and they peaked my curiosity.

Can I ask if anyone could recommend a good 2 Bay NAS specifically for streaming Blu-ray rips to a PS3/Xbox360 and the like.

When I say blu-ray rips I do not want to convert them to MKV's which lowers the PQ I mean stream as native TS files or even ISOs.

As another idea I was thinking was an article I found was suggesting to build your own. Is this a good idea or not?

Here is the article

How to build a NAS box | bit-tech.net

If I were to build my own does anywhere sell empty NAS cases so I can just chuck the Motherboard/CPU/Ram and Hard drives inside.

Thanks for any help on this

Fe_man2000

You cant play bluray rips on either a ps3 or a xbox as far as I know without some conversion surely ? (or mkv for that matter)

MarkE19

If I were to build my own does anywhere sell empty NAS cases so I can just chuck the Motherboard/CPU/Ram and Hard drives inside.
I think your best bet at the moment would be to get an HP Microserver. At £239 it's not exactly cheap, but you can get £100 cashback from HP so it is really only £139 and you can't buy a decent NAS for that.
You can then use the likes of FreeNAS or unRAID as the OS, or even buy Windows Home Server

As mentioned I'm fairly sure you can't stream a full BluRay rip to the PS3 or XBox360 as their media support is fairly limited. For BluRay's you really need to be looking at a dedicated media streamer, which will also give you options such as creating a video jukebox.

Mark.

AnthonyG

Distinguished Member