Naim Nait 5i compatible with Arcam rDock?

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by JonnyBingham, Feb 9, 2009.

Tags:
  1. JonnyBingham

    JonnyBingham
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    216
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Guildford
    Ratings:
    +10
    Can the Arcam rDock be connected to the Naim Nait 5i (not newer italic version)? Or in other words, does the Nait 5i have an auxilary input, since this seems to be the only form of connection the rDock uses, unless I've missed an option!
    Cheers
     
  2. dwhite

    dwhite
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Messages:
    7,414
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Location:
    Whitehaven
    Ratings:
    +1,805
    I will move this to the Hifi seperates forum, as its a stereo integrated amp not a AV integrated amp.
     
  3. JonnyBingham

    JonnyBingham
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    216
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Guildford
    Ratings:
    +10
    Anyone?
     
  4. John Martin

    John Martin
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Messages:
    777
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Barton Under Needwood, Burton On Trent, United Kin
    Ratings:
    +40
    The short answer is YES. There is no 'auxiliary' input marked as such, but
    that is just a line level input. You can put your rDock into any of the Naim's line level inputs, though of course you have to use the appropriate lead.
    Have a look at the Nait manual :

    http://www.naim-audio.com/download/man_amps_2007_English.pdf
     
  5. JonnyBingham

    JonnyBingham
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    216
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Guildford
    Ratings:
    +10
    Do I have to buy special speaker plugs to be able to use Chord Silver Anniversary XT cable with the Nait 5i?
     
  6. JonnyBingham

    JonnyBingham
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    216
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Guildford
    Ratings:
    +10
    I take it to use the chord cable I have to solder the ends to the 2 plugs that come with the Naim Nait 5i - is that right? Is this a simple job?

    Thanks
     
  7. John Martin

    John Martin
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Messages:
    777
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Barton Under Needwood, Burton On Trent, United Kin
    Ratings:
    +40
    The Naim speaker connections are standard banana plug terminals. If you don't feel like soldering the plugs (the Naim supplied ones are just two bananas conveniently in a block), just get a pair of screw on ones from Maplin or equivalent shop. Soldered ones more reliable, but if you're crap at soldering (like me), then perhaps the screwed ones would be a better option.

    \\:)
     
  8. JonnyBingham

    JonnyBingham
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    216
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Guildford
    Ratings:
    +10
    Can you enclose a weblink (i.e. to Dixons product page) of what these screw-on plugs look like? Thanks a lot
     
  9. John Martin

    John Martin
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2007
    Messages:
    777
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Barton Under Needwood, Burton On Trent, United Kin
    Ratings:
    +40
    Here's a link to Maplins. They have a variety of banana plugs, some screwed.

    Maplin Electronics ™ Website- 1.5Terabyte Maxtor External Desktop Hard Drive

    Just search for banana plug on that site. I would paste the actual link, but I'm posting this from my daughter's mac, and I'm not too familiar with the way it works. I tried ctrl-c etc but the link didn't seem to want to copy across.
     
  10. JonnyBingham

    JonnyBingham
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    216
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Guildford
    Ratings:
    +10
    Thanks
     

Share This Page

Loading...