NAD T777v3 AV Receiver Review & Comments

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Phil Hinton, May 1, 2018.


    1. Ed Selley

      Ed Selley
      AVF Reviewer

      Joined:
      Jun 26, 2003
      Messages:
      11,200
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      2
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Ratings:
      +3,674
    2. Abacus

      Abacus
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jan 19, 2015
      Messages:
      404
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      47
      Location:
      Torbay
      Ratings:
      +219
      But does it make the Tea? :)
       
    3. JoeSepi

      JoeSepi
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Mar 25, 2011
      Messages:
      1,036
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      116
      Location:
      Kent, UK
      Ratings:
      +689
      It does support Dolby Vision now, as of last firmware update!
       
      • Useful Useful x 2
      • Agree Agree x 1
      • List
    4. Electric Mayhem

      Electric Mayhem
      Distinguished Member

      Joined:
      Mar 16, 2001
      Messages:
      10,494
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Location:
      United Kingdom
      Ratings:
      +2,030
      @Ed Selley

      You may want to point out that the Auto Setup with Dirac requires a PC/Laptop.
       
    5. dante01

      dante01
      Distinguished Member

      Joined:
      Mar 5, 2009
      Messages:
      43,435
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Ratings:
      +9,965
      No, but does your teapot decode Dolby Atmos and power 7 speakers?
       
    6. Mister_Tad

      Mister_Tad
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jan 16, 2008
      Messages:
      277
      Products Owned:
      3
      Products Wanted:
      1
      Trophy Points:
      46
      Location:
      Nottingham
      Ratings:
      +136
      I'm 90% set on Dirac Live for the next AVR, which raises the question - this or the AVR550? (or suck it up for the AVR850?)

      The lack of a volume overlay is a huge black mark for me though, particularly if it doesn't seem especially loud at high volumes, given the AVR isn't in the room to provide a visual indicator :/

      Another thing that irks me on most of the AVRs that are "missing" channels of amplification - give us fully assignable amps please! If I'm having to use an external amp, I'd much rather get a big stereo amp for the fronts and use the onboard channels for the .4
       
    7. avbill1

      avbill1
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jun 18, 2013
      Messages:
      70
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      18
      Ratings:
      +55
      I have one of these from helpful folk at Sevenoaks Oxford, for a few weeks now, and I am thrilled with it. The presence of multi-channel audio inputs makes it an excellent partner to my Oppo 205, and I can use either DAC depending on the disc. The quality of music is outstanding in my view.

      I take issue with one point of this review, which is the slight obsession with the lack of an on-screen volume information. First, the amp displays the volume. Second, even if you have hidden the amp, are people not capable of hearing whether it is too loud or soft!! Even if you are terminally obsessed with having a number, you can see it on the excellent iphone control app, which I use in preference to the big NAD remote anyway. The app also shows the name you have given the inputs so you can see TV, Apple TV, Blu Ray etc if you have given them the names. No issue here at all IMHO.

      I sort of agree with the fiddlyness of the HDMI inputs in their vertical stack. I had to get behind it with a torch to sort out my inputs. But that is a small price to pay for the upgradeability of the NAD hardware - you can swap the two vertical stacks on the left (from the back) without having to replace the unit. NAD call this MDC (modular design construction) and I thought that was a big deal for future-proofing.

      I had a few false starts connecting up the Dirac Live calibration. You need to read the manual carefully to get the cabling right to a laptop. The differentiation between this and the much cheaper 758 is perhaps not a lot for the price difference - more Watts, more HDMI, Ethernet and support for speakers down to 4 Ohms is about it. I decided it was worth it but others may find the 758 V3 sufficient. (The official speaker rating of the 758 as being a min of 8 is buried at the bottom of the back plate and you might need to zoom in on the data sheet or manual diagram to notice it.)
       
      Last edited: May 1, 2018
    8. richardsim7

      richardsim7
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Nov 19, 2014
      Messages:
      2,294
      Products Owned:
      2
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      116
      Location:
      London
      Ratings:
      +1,657
      This is the app I use with mine, works amazingly well: T 758 V3 on the App Store

      Yeah unfortunately this, and the Arcam only have 1 pair of assignable internal amps, and that's either for rear surrounds, zone 2, or front heights
       
    9. avbill1

      avbill1
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jun 18, 2013
      Messages:
      70
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      18
      Ratings:
      +55
      I use the NAD one: "NAD A/V Remote", which added full support for the T777V3 in V1.18 about a month ago. Here it is on the store - on mine the Source numbers are replaced by the names I have given. Nice big volume On the Screen Display of the iPhone. And nothing in the way of the movie I am watching. app.jpg
       
    10. Thatsnotmynaim

      Thatsnotmynaim
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Jun 21, 2004
      Messages:
      3,738
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      137
      Location:
      Middle Earth
      Ratings:
      +623
      Having OSD with volume is essential when amp is not in line of sight and you have kids asleep and SHMBO or her mother can’t judge volume that well, i.e. they Set the volume based on a quiet TV program only to wake the whole house when a loud part comes along... It’s a small first world issue I know, but important to some and the house harmony, it doesn’t bother me, but having it would make an otherwise excellent amp more accepted / family friendly..
       
    11. High Fidelity

      High Fidelity
      Member

      Joined:
      Sep 1, 2007
      Messages:
      903
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      64
      Ratings:
      +262
    12. JoeSepi

      JoeSepi
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Mar 25, 2011
      Messages:
      1,036
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      116
      Location:
      Kent, UK
      Ratings:
      +689
      Extremely fugly app though, I find it almost offensive!

      When I last looked it still referenced some rubbish room correction instead of Dirac, is that fixed now?
       
    13. BobbyMac

      BobbyMac
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Aug 26, 2011
      Messages:
      5,691
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      1
      Trophy Points:
      136
      Ratings:
      +770
      There's a 3rd party app on the Apple Store for a Ipad/Iphone display written by a member on AVSForums
       
    14. Mister_Tad

      Mister_Tad
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jan 16, 2008
      Messages:
      277
      Products Owned:
      3
      Products Wanted:
      1
      Trophy Points:
      46
      Location:
      Nottingham
      Ratings:
      +136
      This.

      I have some sound proofing in the movie room and it's an entire house away from kiddo's room, which means "loud" is okay, but it's too easy to cross over from "loud" to "way too loud", especially in films.

      AVR is racked up in a cupboard next to the room, Harmony is doing remote duties so don't want to have to use a phone/tablet. Such a simple thing, but such a bummer that it's missing.
       
    15. JoeSepi

      JoeSepi
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Mar 25, 2011
      Messages:
      1,036
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      116
      Location:
      Kent, UK
      Ratings:
      +689
      I agree it would be better if it had it, but with TV channels varying between each other and between programs and adverts, with movies from Disney like the new Star Wars where they seem to have forgotten to set a level so you have to run an amp hot to Dunkirk where the same level would make your ears bleed and wake up the kids in the whole street what real use is the volume display.
       
    16. avbill1

      avbill1
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jun 18, 2013
      Messages:
      70
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      18
      Ratings:
      +55
      Some soundtracks are louder than others. Some have greater dynamic audio range than others. On some the dialogue is clear and others it is mumbling. Clinging to the number of dB displayed by the amp alone seems to me to pointless given all the other factors that vary. This whole OSD obsession seems to me to be a pointless excuse to find faults with an excellent product. We have visibility of the dB display on the amp and the app, but pay no attention to it (I use the app for on/off and source switching). We have a rule that the amp is turned right down at the end of a viewing session, and then adjusted up to a sensible level as a movie begins. "Sensible" depends on whether the kids are also watching, doing music practice or reading or asleep. We get cries to turn it up if they are watching!

      My whole life revolves around numbers as an applied mathematician. I also know when they tell you absolutely nothing. This is one of those cases. (Just as I finished writing this the last post appeared - I agree fully - ads are often massively louder on TV.)
       
    17. Smudger1

      Smudger1
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Dec 28, 2006
      Messages:
      380
      Products Owned:
      3
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      47
      Location:
      That London
      Ratings:
      +148
      Next you'll be telling us 'All the way to 11' is nonsense. Pah!
       
    18. Mister_Tad

      Mister_Tad
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Jan 16, 2008
      Messages:
      277
      Products Owned:
      3
      Products Wanted:
      1
      Trophy Points:
      46
      Location:
      Nottingham
      Ratings:
      +136
      Seems to be lots of mainly NAD owners defending it's omission. Personally I find the OSD very useful. I watch neither TV channels nor ads - with my own films, the streaming content I watch and games, the volume OSD is helpful in determining how loud loud will be for the duration of whatever content I'm watching - I don't want to be quickly reaching for the remote to knock it back when something blows up (by which time my daughter is already awake)

      Lots of "buts", but this is all there is to it - some people might not find it useful, but some people do. Even if some people can live without it but don't realise it yet, it's not like we're talking about a feature that adds cost or development time - its omission is just a bit daft when it's something that can be on someone's "cons"list.

      My life revolves around convincing someone they don't really want that feature that they think they want, working in technical sales - this is one of those features I do.
       
      Last edited: May 1, 2018
    19. Ed Selley

      Ed Selley
      AVF Reviewer

      Joined:
      Jun 26, 2003
      Messages:
      11,200
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      2
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Ratings:
      +3,674
      Ultimately, I've lived for years with products that do it and most of the NAD's key competition has it. In test conditions here, the display is usually out of eyeline and it's been annoying to not have it. I appreciate that you don't need it and have a £2,500 shaped confirmation bias to the product but it would have been remiss of me not to mention its absence.
       
    20. dante01

      dante01
      Distinguished Member

      Joined:
      Mar 5, 2009
      Messages:
      43,435
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Ratings:
      +9,965
      I employ a butler to adjust the volume and inform me of its level :lesson:
       
    21. Rockets

      Rockets
      Member

      Joined:
      Dec 16, 2016
      Messages:
      57
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      8
      Location:
      UK
      Ratings:
      +20
      I don't know if it is sad or good that a av amp is marked down for omissions while having fantastic sound quality. Clearly a lot of the R&D/manufacturer on this NAD unit was purely on sound quality.

      Probably my main criteria would be sound quality and if another item matches it then look at the spec/usability after.

      So yeah my next av unit purchase NAD will be in the testing list for sure.
       
    22. BobbyMac

      BobbyMac
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Aug 26, 2011
      Messages:
      5,691
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      1
      Trophy Points:
      136
      Ratings:
      +770
      Lack of an OSD is a dealbreaker for some and not for others

      I’ve had other Amps with HDMI issues playing 4K, not had a single HDMI issue with my unit
       
    23. Khazul

      Khazul
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Sep 10, 2017
      Messages:
      1,461
      Products Owned:
      3
      Products Wanted:
      1
      Trophy Points:
      116
      Location:
      UK
      Ratings:
      +503
      Agree - especially as I have no doubt they also have suitable HT bypass capable integrated amps as well as their power amps.

      TBH - this tends to be a pet annoyance of mine with many AVRs with pre-outs. At least Yamaha 2070 and 3070 can re-assign the fronts - think higher end Marantz can as well. For something like this and if setting up a 5/7.1.4 I'd almost count it as a deal breaker given the asking price (which I have would have no issues with otherwise as a higher end AVR that could do a decent job of music as well), but its annoying to effective need 2 amps one your first choice is always going to be to use an external amp for the fronts for HiFi integration. Given they are a Hifi company, I am somewhat surprised by this major oversight.

      As for OSD - got used to not seeing the OSD and instead checking the device panel when watching from TV apps like Netflix etc anyway.
       
      Last edited: May 1, 2018
    24. NicolasB

      NicolasB
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Oct 3, 2002
      Messages:
      6,524
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      136
      Location:
      Emily's Shop
      Ratings:
      +921
      The important question, it seems to me, is: if you're using both devices with external power amps, how does this device compare to the Arcam AVR390 (or the AVR550)?
       
    25. richardsim7

      richardsim7
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Nov 19, 2014
      Messages:
      2,294
      Products Owned:
      2
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      116
      Location:
      London
      Ratings:
      +1,657
      I A/B'd a T758v3 and an AVR550 using an Arcam P-1000 power amp. No Dirac, just 2.0 - couldn't tell the difference
       
    26. spl23

      spl23
      Member

      Joined:
      Jan 9, 2004
      Messages:
      2,671
      Products Owned:
      0
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      103
      Ratings:
      +382
      At the risk of appearing old-fashioned, didn't the difference between an "amplifier" and a "receiver" used to be the presence of a radio tuner in the latter? Given the total lack of any form of aerial connection on the back panel photo, surely this is an amplifier and not a receiver?

      (And yes, I know about internet radio, but poor-quality low-bitrate online streams are not a substitute for FM in my book...)
       
    27. BobbyMac

      BobbyMac
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Aug 26, 2011
      Messages:
      5,691
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      1
      Trophy Points:
      136
      Ratings:
      +770
      Just had SSAV on the blower, basically they can attempt the current fix that has fixed some units but not all, or they reckon there will be a new fix for the end of next week that will fix every unit

      Anyone been told the same?
       
    28. richardsim7

      richardsim7
      Well-known Member

      Joined:
      Nov 19, 2014
      Messages:
      2,294
      Products Owned:
      2
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      116
      Location:
      London
      Ratings:
      +1,657
      Wrong thread, buddy ;)
       
    29. silouette

      silouette
      Active Member

      Joined:
      Mar 5, 2010
      Messages:
      671
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      0
      Trophy Points:
      32
      Location:
      Welwyn
      Ratings:
      +79
      Noticed the review used a mains conditioner.
      What might one expect the improvements to be ?
       
    30. Ed Selley

      Ed Selley
      AVF Reviewer

      Joined:
      Jun 26, 2003
      Messages:
      11,200
      Products Owned:
      1
      Products Wanted:
      2
      Trophy Points:
      166
      Ratings:
      +3,674
      The mains conditioners are used because I wish to protect review equipment from untoward events that might happen here and vice versa. While I have heard subjective improvement with a selection of devices (items like phono stages in particular), their listing in reviews of this nature is to note their existence rather than to insist on their use for other people. The NAD was not tested without it so no difference in performance was logged. I don't believe a device of this nature would benefit hugely under normal conditions.
       

    Share This Page

    Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice