nad c320bee and vinyl player?

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by gunner84, Jan 4, 2007.

  1. gunner84

    gunner84
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    4,231
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,016
    hi

    im looking to get a vinyl record player to connect up to my nad c320bee/c352 system

    can this amp operate a vinyl player or do i need to get something added if so can i do that to the nad c320bee amp?

    also can anyone reccomend a good low value vinyl player?

    thanks for the help:)
     
  2. hammers80

    hammers80
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yes,it needs a phono stage,try a Rega phonostage into the newRega P1 turntable,it will be a good entry level way to get on the vinyl road,more and more people are rediscovering the joys of vinyl.
     
  3. gunner84

    gunner84
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    4,231
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,016
    thanks

    would i fit the phono stage myself or do i have to get it done at a shop?

    cheers
     
  4. Arfa

    Arfa
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2006
    Messages:
    1,077
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +71
    Not sure if your Nad can have a phono stage fitted internally. Eitherway it would probably be best to just get a standalone one, that sits between the turntable and your amp. This would have its only power supply wall wart, you then plug you deck into it with standard rca connectors and then finally plug the phono stage into a spare input on the back of your amp, again using a standard rca interconnect cable.

    Something like the Cambridge Audio 640P (£60 in RicherSounds) is well rated and would do the job admirably. Alternatives would be Nad's own PP1 or Pro-ject's Phonobox range. Other good brands and models (but a little more expensive) are Graham Slee, Creek OBH21 and Musical Fidelity X-LPS.
     
  5. overkill

    overkill
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,854
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Murkeyside
    Ratings:
    +1,207
    You need an external Phono stage. You need one line level input free, and you plug it into that, and the TT into it! :)

    I would suggest the NAD PP1 or Project Phono Box to start with, then maybe look at something more esoteric later.

    The Rega P1 is a good suggestion, but we really need to see a budget before handing out would could be the wrong advice.
     
  6. gunner84

    gunner84
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    4,231
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,016
    hi

    i checked out richersounds and they do that cambridge audio 640p at a good price .

    does it matter if i mix the cambridge audio phono with a nad amp or does it make no difference?

    thanks
     
  7. gunner84

    gunner84
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    4,231
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,016
    ah ive found something cheaper on superfi

    nad pp2 ?
    project phonobox mk2?

    would they work with my equipment

    cheers
     
  8. Nobber22

    Nobber22
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,982
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +111
  9. gunner84

    gunner84
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    4,231
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,016
    cheers

    would there be any difference in the quality with a seperate phono stage

    thinking about getting the progect 3
     
  10. Nobber22

    Nobber22
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2002
    Messages:
    2,982
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Berkshire
    Ratings:
    +111
    Seperate phono stages do usually sound better than built-in ones in an amp. Depends on the amp and the stage of course. :D

    A Rega Project 3 with a good budget external stage will sound lovely! :smashin:
     
  11. gunner84

    gunner84
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    4,231
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,016
    hi

    i think i might go for the project debut 3 speedbox phono ?

    as i have not got the room for seperate phonos e.g

    and it also looks more what im looking for . what do you think will i be impressed with the sound quality?

    thanks:)
     
  12. gunner84

    gunner84
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    4,231
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,016
    ive decided after all that to go for the project debut 3 and seperate project phono box mk2

    just got to get the cables what will i need?

    thanks
     
  13. enablerbro1

    enablerbro1
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2006
    Messages:
    4,332
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +290
    I have a Planar 3 and nad 3020e from waaaaaaaaaaay back in 1989 and am still happy with them but I hardly ever use them anymore as I reduced myself to listening to some form of mp3. I intend getting some vinyl through my earlugs to ward off my digitally induced cerebral wastage. I may even invest in a new cartridge for the Planar.
     
  14. overkill

    overkill
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,854
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Murkeyside
    Ratings:
    +1,207
    A standard phono cable. The TT usually has it's own built in.
     
  15. gunner84

    gunner84
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    4,231
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,016
    thanks

    so i might not need to get any cable?

    if i did how many pairs of interconnects would i need?-

    project 3 tt
    phonobox mk2
    nad c320 amp

    ?

    cheers
     
  16. overkill

    overkill
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    Messages:
    11,854
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Murkeyside
    Ratings:
    +1,207
    You should only need one. From the amp to the Phono stage. Go to Projects website:- www.project-audio.com/main.php?list=turntables&cat=turntables&lang=en

    It shows you what each deck has or has not got.

    The Project III has a captive lead. So that runs to the Phono box. This will be marked 'input' (or 'turntable'). The other sockets will be marked 'output' (or 'amp'), and you will need a lead which runs from them to the amp.
     
  17. gunner84

    gunner84
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    4,231
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,016
    hi

    well ive ordered my turntable ,the project debut 3 with the phonobox mk2

    i might get some mark grants interconnects (1 pair) or should i get something cheaper , ive got mark grants interconnects on my amp and cd player?

    is there anything i need to know once ive got my player as im a complete newbie with turntables?

    where should i look for vinyl and are they all one size e.g ?

    cheers:thumbsup:
     
  18. Spangle2k5

    Spangle2k5
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    354
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Kettering
    Ratings:
    +29
    Make sure that you read the manual slowly and carefully when you first receive this, as there is a bit of initial configuration to be done to get the deck working properly.

    If you get into any issues, you know where we all are!
     

Share This Page

Loading...