NAD 658 streamer + NAD 298 amp + Dali floorstanding Opticon 8 - Add subwoofer?

Gpezzino

Novice Member
Reaction score
Hello, the title probably captures my question pretty well. Context: my room is acoustically difficult, with hard stone walls, hard wood floor, and irregular shape, plus a half stone wall about 4 feet high in the middle of the room. There is also a grand piano a few feet from one of the speakers. I do not have flexibility in the position of the speakers, since I am not interested in a divorce :) . Using DIRAC on the 658 definitely improved the booming bass from the rear-firing Dali that sits about 2 feet from the stone wall.

I am looking for tighter (not necessarily louder) bass and better mid-range quality. I have no experience with subs in high end systems but my understanding is that by lifting some of the burden from the amp and the speakers' woofers a sub can help provide a cleaner sound at frequencies higher than those covered by the sub itself.

My questions:

1. Is that assumption true?
2. SInce I have DIRAC, would there be an advantage in having a sub with integrated DSP, or would that be an overkill?
3. Any recommendations for specific products? Budget is about $1,000 and I live in the USA.
4. Anything else I should know? If you think this is a dumb idea feel free to say so.

THANKS!!

Those Opticon 8s are beasts, I have the 6 and have them about 30cm from the wall, I found towing them out slightly helped with the base. How are you getting on with the NAD 658 and DIREC as I am interested in the streamer. Does your NAD amp not have a base control so you can reduce its severity?

How are you getting on with the NAD 658 and DIREC as I am interested in the streamer. Does your NAD amp not have a base control so you can reduce its severity?
I like the NAD 658 a lot, and as I said using DIRAC helped quite a bit. Before I had the DIRAC filters generated I played with the bass control and it did help a little, but DIRACT really made a difference.