Question Nad 356Bee & 685S2 bass lacking

Discussion in 'Hi-Fi Stereo Systems & Separates' started by handyroberts, Apr 28, 2016.

Tags:
  1. handyroberts

handyroberts
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi I am not an audio expert as this question will no doubt show so any advice you folks have would be appreciated.
    I have recently bought a used Nad 356BEE and Arcam irdac to go with B&W 685 S2s. I should have demo'd the amp first but didn't and now I can't help but think it doesn't pump out enough bass when listing to music. I have a 2nd pair of 685s connected to a Marantz SR5009 amp and this seems to be much more low end heavy when I compare playing the same sources - but overall not as good as the Nad. I have done some reading on previous threads and I see two options: I add a sub (such one of the BKs maybe) or I get floor standers. Cash is tight at present and so it would mean feeling the 685s if I was doing this as I would want a decent floor standers so a sub probably seems the best route for now.
    But I can't help wondering (having seen a few user reviews online) that 356Bee is part of the problem here. I bought it after initially reading that Nad's go well with my speakers and usually nad's are good for electronic music, which makes up about 50% of my listening. But many people have said 356Bee lacks bass.

Any suggestions on what is best to try next?

Thanks

Andy

2. hifix

hifix
    Distinguished Member AVForums Sponsor

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,421
    Before spending more money and adding more boxes to fix the issue, detect what the issue is with what you have first. Adding a box to fix a problem doesn't remove the problem. It's like sticking some tape over a pipe with a leak.