1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

N64 stuff

Discussion in 'Nintendo Forums' started by buns, May 10, 2003.

  1. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    This is a bit of a stab in the dark......... is there anywhere to get old games and such online? Im actually looking for some method of getting an outup onto composite of svideo or component...... i cant put RF into my projector and i dont really want to spend much more than a few pounds to achieve it!

    thanks

    Ad
     
  2. RL123

    RL123
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2002
    Messages:
    1,037
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Ratings:
    +4
    No, you'll never get the games online.
    You can buy a N64 composite cable but I've not seen one for ages. I should have a spare one but I can't seem to find it right now. You could have bought that from me.

    Go into Dixons or somewhere and ask for a Gamecube composite cable and it will fit your N64 and give you a composite picture for your projector (N64 has the same connection at the console end as a GC)
     
  3. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thank you kindly, does the charm!

    ad
     
  4. Bonesy

    Bonesy
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2002
    Messages:
    1,143
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Wiltshire
    Ratings:
    +27
    Can we get better than composite?
    I am now tempted to get goldeneye onto my projector.
     
  5. ReTrO

    ReTrO
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2000
    Messages:
    3,498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    71
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks, UK
    Ratings:
    +59
    The best quailty you can get for the N64 is s-video.

    Playing using an s-video cable on my PJ made a huge difference, sooo much clearer. Perfect Dark sounds great in DPL2 also! :D
     
  6. simon1

    simon1
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2001
    Messages:
    917
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Teesside
    Ratings:
    +58
  7. StooMonster

    StooMonster
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2002
    Messages:
    4,970
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Kent
    Ratings:
    +314
    I had a US N64, still do in a box upstairs, but my point is it was modified to output RGB via scart and it was so much clearer than anything else (even s-video). These days I could even connect the RGB scart to RGB2YUV and display it on my plasma; perhaps I should dig it out again?

    But anyway, if I recall correctly you could do this with US N64 but not UK ones; and you may be able to find somewhere on the web telling you how to do this.

    Also someone who posts on this board advertises the fact that he does RGB convertions to N64s, can't recall whom at the moment though. :(

    StooMonster
     
  8. gizlaroc

    gizlaroc
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    8,694
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Norwich
    Ratings:
    +606
    you can only RGB the ntsc N64's and not even them on the later batches.

    it is a dead easy mod to do but you need to link a 2 points on the board as well to get a decent output as it is quite dull if not, and then you may want to put a resistor on the link if the whites bloom on your display.

    having said all that, and I got torn to pieces on the ntsc-uk forums for saying this, see if you are happy with s-video, I used to do hundreds of these back in the day and a few customers said that they got better results using an official s-video cable.

    on my philips there is little in it.

    if you need a pic i can send you one.

    hope that helps.

    Groundy will mod your ntsc machine for you I believe.
     

Share This Page

Loading...