N00b Steam question

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs' started by ODB_69, Mar 13, 2013.

  1. ODB_69

    ODB_69
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    12,853
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Englishman in Scotland
    Ratings:
    +2,627
    Ok I know that this will be laughed at but I'm going to ask anyway. :rolleyes:

    How do I install Steam to my SSD BUT have games saved to and playing off the HDD?

    I have a 400GB HDD I want to use solely for games but Steam would only install on the SSD where all the program files etc are

    :lease:
     
  2. Sebastalona

    Sebastalona
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    18,260
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Caledonia
    Ratings:
    +13,974
    Each time you install a game, Steam asks you where you would like to install it. Just choose your HDD.
     
  3. ODB_69

    ODB_69
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    12,853
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Englishman in Scotland
    Ratings:
    +2,627
    Oh ***
     
  4. GMC79

    GMC79
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    10,641
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +3,177
    Not all games give you the choose install location option, if want it all on the 400GB hdd and already have a game or two installed to the ssd just copy everything over (whole steam folder) and delete all except the "steamapps" folder and the "steam.exe". then click on steam exe and steam will sort itself out in the new location:smashin: Can delete the stuff first and move the two over after of course dont matter.

    You may not have stuff on it yet if asking the question but if u have do that now will help for the future.
     
  5. Sebastalona

    Sebastalona
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    18,260
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Caledonia
    Ratings:
    +13,974
    What's the problem?:confused:
     
  6. ODB_69

    ODB_69
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    12,853
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Englishman in Scotland
    Ratings:
    +2,627
    just cant believe how simple it was...dumb question or what!
     
  7. ODB_69

    ODB_69
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    12,853
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Englishman in Scotland
    Ratings:
    +2,627

    Ah so install 1 or 2 games, then shift everything over except those 2 you have said and it will automatically re-direct it?

    Yes fresh build so nothing on but OS, drivers and utilities from the disks...then have steam, uplay and Utorrent downloaded as well
     
  8. GMC79

    GMC79
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    10,641
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +3,177
    Just shift it over now, all games are located inside the steamapps folder. (also a quick way of reinstalling steam as it just moves and reinstalls after click it again).
    So if you delete everything in the steam folder apart from steamapps folder and the steam exe. (1,556kb or something) and then copy the main steam folder to where you want it and click the steam exe after it will sort itself out.
     
  9. richardb70

    richardb70
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    5,202
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +2,386
    This doesn't sound right. I've recently rebuilt my PC, with an SSD and an HDD. When I reinstalled Steam, I could specify the install path, so I put it on the HDD.

    There's another Steam Tips thread here, loads of answers in there. :smashin:
     
  10. Sinzer

    Sinzer
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    5,829
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,120
    To be fair it is not so dumb, this feature of STEAM is a new addition in the past couple of months.
     
  11. ODB_69

    ODB_69
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    12,853
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Englishman in Scotland
    Ratings:
    +2,627

    I tried to put it on the HDD and it flat out refused. Forget the on screen message though

    Possibly cause the HDD's are totally empty? I want to install everything onto the gaming HDD for Steam, Origin, Uplay etc etc so maybe I'll have the same problem with the others
     
  12. richardb70

    richardb70
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    5,202
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +2,386
    On your HDD, create a folder called "Programs" (or "Games", up to you). You'll definitely be able to install Steam there (that's exactly what I did!).
     
  13. GMC79

    GMC79
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    10,641
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +3,177
    Should still let you pick when first install steam but mayb yeah since no folers there whatsoever...
    copy the steam folder over now to your empty games hdd and then delete the files i said leaving just the 2 left and reclick the exe. Will work right away.
     
  14. ODB_69

    ODB_69
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    12,853
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Englishman in Scotland
    Ratings:
    +2,627
    awesome, thanks chaps. Will try Richards sugestion first cause then Uplay, Origin etc should work the same. If it doesnt work I'll try yours GMC
     
  15. GMC79

    GMC79
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2006
    Messages:
    10,641
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Glasgow
    Ratings:
    +3,177
    Yeah if have no games on and just want to install just do it normall make games folder in the hdd and should let you install there.

    If ever have to move stuff in the future its class you can just move it anywhere as uninstalling steam obviuosly deletes everything. and if have sucky web like me that means trouble:eek:

    Origin is the same just move the games and click install the game in ur list and it'll start to download for few secs then just finish and be playable again :smashin:

    as is with uplay, i moved my far cry install back to my ssd other day and booted disc and pointed it to the said moved folder, it just skips files during install asked for disc 2 in 10 secs and was done in 1min :D
     
  16. ODB_69

    ODB_69
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    12,853
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Englishman in Scotland
    Ratings:
    +2,627
    Just wanted to say thanks again for help on here. I created a 'games' folder on the HDD and working fine now. I really should have read the warning properly...cannot save to root, so everything saving to it now nicely
     
  17. kav

    kav
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    25,488
    Products Owned:
    10
    Products Wanted:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    167
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +13,816
    400GB? I give you a year until you have to expand. :D
     
  18. ODB_69

    ODB_69
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    12,853
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Englishman in Scotland
    Ratings:
    +2,627
    I wouldn't even give it that tbf but will do for now

    BIOSHOCK, AC3, Tomb Raider will probs take up 100gb
     
  19. Cha1ky

    Cha1ky
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    50,088
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    The Internet
    Ratings:
    +25,099
    Mines on a SSD so i micro manage. Once a game is done it gets deleted.

    If you manage it like that you'll be fine. Start saving for a SSD to put them on now :)
     
  20. ODB_69

    ODB_69
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2008
    Messages:
    12,853
    Products Owned:
    3
    Products Wanted:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Englishman in Scotland
    Ratings:
    +2,627
    Got an SSD but I'm keeping it clean as possible. I've got seperate drives for everything. 120GB SSD for OS etc, 400GB for games, 3TB for movies and music (with the idea being getting more as needed) and a 2TB to store everything else on, with a 1.5TB external (well...internal in a caddy) to backup the important stuff up off the 2TB
     
  21. richardb70

    richardb70
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    5,202
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Reading
    Ratings:
    +2,386
    Bear in mind that some games run better from an SSD, so you might want to "micro-manage" as suggested earlier and move a couple over. Skyrim, for instance, seems a prime candidate.

    If you already have them downloaded and installed to your HDD, then google "steam mover" which will relocate games easily enough (you can always move them back). These days Steam will ask where you want to install new games to. I've got a 128Gb SSD for my OS and I can easily house 3 games on there too.
     
  22. Jack-Deth

    Jack-Deth
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    6,354
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Ireland
    Ratings:
    +1,341
    Another vote for micro managing your SSD using Steam Mover. Games like Battlefield 3 benefit from having significantly reduced load times making playing therm much more enjoyable. Only keep the ones you are actively playing on the SSD then when finished ,move them onto your mechanical drive.
     
  23. iainl7

    iainl7
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2006
    Messages:
    1,872
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +257
    The other time it's handy to break out the "move Steam's folder and relaunch steam.exe to pick up the new location" trick is because Steam doesn't like letting you install it onto an external USB drive. This will work past that.
     

Share This Page

Loading...