1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My widescreen has died

Discussion in 'TVs' started by Amarok, Jun 28, 2003.

1. Amarok

Amarok

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a Hitachi 24" widescreen that has been switching itsef off for some time as well as the scart connections being very flimsy,resulting in having to tweak them to at least get a picture from my DVD of VCR.

Now it seems to have died as the power standby light doesnt even come on at all.I also detected a slight burning smell comming from the back of the set.

I am no rocket scientist but I would expect it to have lasted more than 3 years 9 months.I will NEVER buy Hitachi again,a total waste of money.It will cost me a fortune to get it fixed so I will have to bin it and get another more reliable one which is where you people could help.

As a plasma screen is way out of my price range,I would just like some advice where I can get a better quality (picture and build) widescreen for a very good price.It is very annoying to have to fork out again after such a short time.

Thanks.

2. PaulJ

PaulJ

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello,

What size tv are you looking for and whats your budget?

Is sound important or do you have separates?

The best thing to do is go on pricerunner and enter your budget, this will bring up most tv's within that range.

If you see anything that takes your fancy, you could then do a search on this forum for people opinions. Thats how I started.

Happy Hunting.

Paul :hiya:

3. bonzobanana

bonzobanana

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +219