1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My Video7 26incher is broken.

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by warhorse, May 19, 2005.

  1. warhorse

    warhorse
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Had the set for 3 weeks and very happy with it indeed but unfortunately it's developed a major fault as you can see in the attached photos. I've got in touch with them and I'm waiting for them to arrange to pick it up now.
    Has any other owners of the Video7 or the Sonix or even the Goodmans had similar faults to this one?
    Cheers
     

    Attached Files:

  2. benwong

    benwong
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Warhorse,

    Looks like your screen's having the same problems as this Sonix user here:

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=193616&page=59&pp=15

    Look at post #883.

    Goes to show, not only do Video 7 and Sonix use exactly the same screens, they die in the same way too ;)

    Sounds like you were probably better off with the Sonix though mate, people having problems with them are simply taking them back to Sainsburys for an immediate straight swap or refund.

    Ben
     
  3. dvd.collector

    dvd.collector
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Messages:
    45
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +6
    Yep this is exactly what happened with my Sonix yesterday. Took it back to sainsburys and got a refund, as they didnt have any more stock.

    Have just decided to buy the Sharp LC26GA5E instead, for £50 more.

    Shame cos I thought the Sonix was good value for money.
     
  4. warhorse

    warhorse
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2005
    Messages:
    15
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Looks a fairly commen fault then.

    The Sharp LC26GA5E looks a nice set but from what I can make out has no DVI input so would be no good to me.
     
  5. Bilbob

    Bilbob
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,536
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +292
    Exactly the same boat as me, looked VERY attractive, but without DVI, and the d-sub only accepting 1024x768, it's useless....
     
  6. dvd.collector

    dvd.collector
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2005
    Messages:
    45
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +6
    Yep this nearly put me off, but as I'm using it as a bedroom TV, i figured the chances of me using sky HD up there are low, and for £550 its the closest pricewise to the sonix i could find.

    Besides it has component input, so if the rumours are true and Sky go that route to start with, it should provide me with a few years service before HD is more widely available.
     
  7. marchino

    marchino
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Where did you get the LC26GA5E for £550?

    Thanks
     

Share This Page

Loading...