1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My Skyworth has died

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Smurfin, Jan 10, 2003.

  1. Smurfin

    Smurfin
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    20,390
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,738
    Not sure if anyone will know on here (think I'll post on the avsforum too), but on Xmas Eve my Skyworth PS DVD player died (bought from these forums).

    I was in the middle of watching a movie....and the thing just switched off. Initially I thought it was a problem with the fuse, but the standby light is on.

    Thats all the life I can get out of the damned thing sadly:(

    I know there have been comments on the skyworth's previously, and the one thing I never did was leave the player on standby (apparently it doesn't like it).

    So anyone got any ideas what the problem could be?

    Where could I go to get it fixed (Cambridge area)?

    I'm wondering if I should just bin the thing and buy either the Philips or the Limit.....but it's kinda gutting as it's a superb lil machine (better than my Toshiba SD510 for picture quality).

    So in short.....help:eek:
     
  2. Badger

    Badger
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2002
    Messages:
    257
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
  3. Smurfin

    Smurfin
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    20,390
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,738
    Phil, yes it does output PAL as 480p.....and my soldering skills suck!:eek:

    But I have nothing to lose.........*goes to open it up*....

    Thanks for the links btw...
     
  4. Smurfin

    Smurfin
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    20,390
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,738
    Just opened it up (can't believe I'm doing this at gone midnight) and the capacitor has indeed blown......looks like the same fix as in the pics. Now where to buy one.........:confused:
     
  5. Flimber

    Flimber
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2002
    Messages:
    13,360
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,477
    And to think that I quietly hated you for snatching this right from under my nose for £50 (and the seller was a hop and a skip away from me too) :p

    But seriously, hope you get it fixed and have it back in tiptop order ASAP.

    Mike.
     
  6. Smurfin

    Smurfin
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2002
    Messages:
    20,390
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,738
    ;) Flimber.....hopefully I can get it fixed. Really gives an amazing pic for such a budget machine.
     
  7. LV426

    LV426
    Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2000
    Messages:
    12,754
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Somewhere in South Yorkshire
    Ratings:
    +4,908
    Try Maplins
     
  8. chips

    chips
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2001
    Messages:
    2,380
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    2NM S EGTF
    Ratings:
    +22
    Smurfin,

    Looking through the links provided by Badger, it's a 2200uF 16V electrolytic. If you want one, I can order one for delivery to you by first class post despatched today. The cost is £2.50 for a pack of 5 (105 degree C temperature rating). If you would like me to get a pack sent to you, PM me your address and put £2.50 in a charity box of your choice.
     

Share This Page

Loading...