1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My second blown amp.......is this a system problem?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by buns, Nov 10, 2002.

  1. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    I managed to make my old marantz amp non functional running out of the pre outs of my yamaha A5 some weeks ago...... now the same thing has just happened with another amp. Could this be something that the yamaha is causing?

    ad

    ps. :mad: :mad: :mad: grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr
     
  2. The Nightfly

    The Nightfly
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2002
    Messages:
    801
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    The New Frontier
    Ratings:
    +23
    Speakers or speaker cable possibly ? Some amps are a bit fussy about shorts across the speaker terminals although most AV stuff should be okay with this. More esoteric HiFi equipment may take a less intrusive route with regards output protection.

    Allan
     
  3. ANDY_DUTTON

    ANDY_DUTTON
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2002
    Messages:
    498
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Cambridge
    Ratings:
    +87
    Check first of all that the speakers cables are not shorted anywhere and that there are no spidery bits of wire that could be shorting out the amplifer. Also check that your speakers are still all working, listen to each speaker drive unit closely to see if all the tweeters and base drives are still OK. If one of them is out it may be over laoding the amplifer (although this is unusual they usually go open circuit)

    It is possible although unlikely that the A5 has gone unstable in its output stage producing lots of very high frequency signal. You can't hear this but it will heat up both your amplfier and the tweeters in your speakers. This can cause amplfiers to fail as they are not designed to reproduce very high frequency signals. Without an oscilloscope it would be really hard to tell if this is the problem or not.

    Andy.
     
  4. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    There are no shorts......the binding posts are about 10 cm apart......

    The manufacturer tells me that its probably the mains fuse..... now i have to find where in the amp that is...... without frying myself on coke can capacitors..... maybe i just have too many things on the ring circuit and im getting periodic surges or something.....

    ad
     
  5. mick23

    mick23
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2002
    Messages:
    801
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    uk
    Ratings:
    +2
    hi buns i used to have a5 ,connected to yam ax592 so used a5 for c+rears 592for fronts,had no problems,from memory it is the 2 phonos marked main on rear of a5 , approx half way,assume this is what your using,is speaker impedance switch on back of a5 set correctly? apart from this cant offer any more advice,
     
  6. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    thanks again...... i am all connected correctly...... im running all channels through separate amps so the A5 is just processing.....

    I'm for now putting it down to co incidence or a misfortune with mains...... if it happens again i will be very annoyed! :mad:

    ad
     
  7. buns

    buns
    Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2001
    Messages:
    6,066
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    58
    Location:
    Belfast
    Ratings:
    +1
    I have in my hand, one extremely dead mains fuse..... simple really, but im worried that it has happened a few times. Maybe my electonic skills need to get cracking on some protection.....

    ad
     

Share This Page

Loading...