1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My problem - your choice of PJ

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by Markatlarks, Jan 10, 2003.

1. Markatlarks

Markatlarks
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2
    I have read with great interest all the info. in this forum and after 5 days of reading I know that you guys are the ones to ask this question of.

Problem:
    I want to convert my spare room (16ft long 14ft wide 7.5 foot high) into a TV room for watching TV/VCR/DVD/SKY by using a front projector. Which Projector would you recommend (and why if possible).

Personal Viewing Profile :

Football, Cricket, Rugby ....... ie Sport
    Old B+W movies
    Movies on SKY
    General TV

I havent got a DVD player or HCPC ( I am a computer man/ System builder) but I will get there as stage 2. (I will be back to ask that question after you have answered this question first!)

Parameters:

Budget £2,500 but cost is less important than value for money and medium term compatibility.
    Dont want CRT projector. As for size shape etc - I dont care.

Having looked at the forum I find myself interested in the following: Sony VW11/VW12 (over budget), Panasonic PT-AE100 (I am worried about the drift of the forum chat on unstable PSUs for this machine). Also where iss the best place (UK or Import) to acquire the PJ?

Many thanks

Mark Roberts

2. marcw

marcw

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been doing lots of reading here and elsewhere too, was originally looking at the Panny AE100 and Sanyo Z1 but decided against them due to screendoor on both and apparent reliability problems on the Z1...