My Powered Speakers are really quiet

I was given a pair of 200W Yorkville NX25P powered speakers

I have been using them solely for watching movies outdoors with a pop-up projector setup. But I have the volume cranked up and some movies are just too quiet outdoors.
My projector has an old 3.5mm TRS audio out, which I connect to a monoprice passive direct box (by stage right), this pushes sound out through 2 25' runs of XLR to the speakers' line in input.
I have the level turned all the way up

What would be a quick and cheap solution to get more sound out of these speakers when the source audio has low levels? I think I just need to add some gain but admittedly, I have very little knowledge in this area

ShanePJ

AVForums Sponsor
It sounds like the signal requires amplification in order to bring the volume up to the correct level (similar to the turntable)

What projector do you have and what input options do you have the powered speakers?

After a bunch of research, I was told that my problem may be that my projector is outputting consumer line level (-10dB), while the active speakers are expecting a professional line level (+4dB)

If what I need is to convert consumer to pro levelaudio, then these two products are the cheapest I found

Rolls MB15-B Stereo RCA To Balanced XLR Converter

Samson S-Convert S Class Mini -10 to +4dB Audio Converter | The Rock Room | Reverb

Not sure if this is what I need, though
There are also much cheaper "phono turntable" amplifiers that just seem to crank the gain up on an audio signal.

My projector is an optoma with an 3.5mm audio out. I'd have to take it down to look at the model. But looking online they all seem to have roughly the same interface. I doubt any of them are putting out pro line level audio

dogfonos

It sounds like the signal requires amplification in order to bring the volume up to the correct level