my new TFT makes my head hurt!

Discussion in 'PC Gaming & Rigs' started by mark rosser, Oct 21, 2004.

  1. mark rosser

    mark rosser
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2000
    Messages:
    443
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    solihull, west midlands
    Ratings:
    +64
    i need some help regarding resolution settings for 20" Dell TFT. :confused:

    when set to the native resolution (1600 x 1200 @60Hz) through windows control panel, display the image is exceptionally clear, but very small! (some web pages have become a bit of an eye test!). This is mainly a problem within Windows, and too be honest it makes me feel a bit sick!

    I have tried the other resolutions offered, but they either distort the image, or expand it to a degree where clarity is lost.

    I have downloaded a copy of powerstrip, and started to play with this, but to be honest i'm a bit lost. I have also played with the dpi settings, but have not been able to get a satisfactory result as yet.

    any advice or guidance will be most appreciated. :lease:

    thanks
     
  2. Dade

    Dade
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    What OS do you have there?
     
  3. thebigkung

    thebigkung
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Mark,

    I have always found that unless you run your TFT at native res you will loose clarity as you mentioned

    ie a
    15" TFT with 1024x786 res should be fed a 1024x786 res signal.
    A 17" TFT with 1024x786 res should also be fed a 1024x786 res signal.
    A 17" TFT with 1200x1600 res should also be fed a 1200x1600 res signal etc.

    A CRT dosen't suffer with this because it's own resolution changes with the change of the signal. (the crt fires 1024x786 dots to the screen for a 1024x786 signal etc...)

    The only thing you can do is change your desktop apperence settings to use larger fonts and Icons.


    Regards,

    Len
     
  4. Marc

    Marc
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2004
    Messages:
    11,723
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Titchfield
    Ratings:
    +1,101
    you can change the DPI setting by going to Display Properties, then Settings, then Advanced. The DPI setting is in the General section. If you change it from normal (96 dpi) to large (120dpi) which will affect the size of practically everything on screen without affecting the resolution.

    You can also adjust sizes of fonts, icons, titlebars etc in the Advanced panel of the Appearance section of the Display Properties panel.

    this is based on Windows XP, other versions of windows also have this functionality but probably not in exactly the same place

    Hope this helps
     
  5. cyberheater

    cyberheater
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2003
    Messages:
    3,225
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Scotland
    Ratings:
    +179
    You can get a whopping great big fresnel lens off ebay for cheap if that helps.
     
  6. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    22,720
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +10,860
    increase your refresh rate, as anything under 75hz is NOT flicker free.
     
  7. cerebros

    cerebros
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,314
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +30
    He's talking about TFT, not CRT
     
  8. mjn

    mjn
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    22,720
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Herts, England
    Ratings:
    +10,860
    i think it also applies to TFT
     
  9. cerebros

    cerebros
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Messages:
    1,314
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Leicester
    Ratings:
    +30
    Not from anectdotal evidence from people I know with TFT screens
     
  10. Chanser

    Chanser
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,946
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    The Black Hole
    Ratings:
    +290
    TFT screens never flicker even under 75Hz.
     
  11. Laurel&Hardy

    Laurel&Hardy
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    TFT's cant flicker because they use cold cathode tubes for the backlight. These are always lit. So refresh only deals with how often the picture gets updated, nothing else.
     
  12. HMHB

    HMHB
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2001
    Messages:
    27,187
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Nottinghamshire
    Ratings:
    +6,125
    This is why I can't really consider getting a 17" TFT that runs at 1280x1024 as I currently run my 19" CRT at 1024x768 and find that the most comfortable. I would really need a 19" TFT running at 1280x1024 to be able to do my work all day.
     
  13. Solar

    Solar
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,570
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Location:
    Earth
    Ratings:
    +467
    he said

    "exceptionally clear, but very small! (some web pages have become a bit of an eye test!)"

    this is nothing to do with the refresh rates or technical info of his tft lol because as you see his monitor and settings is perfectly fine, he simply strained his eyes looking at tiny writing and pictures. The only advice to take here is use a lower resolution like 1024x768 but on a 20" that would be a little too big so i would suggest 1152x864 :) and maybe going for an eye test could be a good idea.
     
  14. Mango Bob

    Mango Bob
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    513
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Changing from the panel's native resolution will lose some screen clarity as you force it to interpolate.

    For a quick fix (if you're using internet explorer) go to the view menu and change Text Size to Larger or Largest. That should work on most sites but won't help for images or where stylesheets override the text size. There'll be a similar setting on most other browsers somewhere.

    Personally I'd try changing the screen dpi in the display settings, that'll fix images, text, the whole shebang.
     
  15. Squiffy

    Squiffy
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2002
    Messages:
    12,315
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Ashford, Kent
    Ratings:
    +5,527
    Also remember that you should rest your eyes for 5 mins every hour.

    Ideally your monitor shouldn't back onto a wall so you can look up and allow your eyes to change focus now and again as well.
     
  16. ZeroEX

    ZeroEX
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    59
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Halving the 1600x1200 native panel resolution of the dell to 800x600 will provide you with no scaling or aliasing artifacts and will maintain pixel mapping (with 1 image pixel taking up 4 physical pixels on the panel) but the I suspect that 800x600 on a 20" would look a little too much like lego to be taken seriously.

    Otherthan that you have no other option but to run at native resolution if you wish to avoid artifacts, either that or you learn to live with them.
     
  17. John7

    John7
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2004
    Messages:
    2,533
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +761
    Mark

    I`ll swap my 19" Samsung (1280 x 1024) with yours :laugh:
     
  18. ZeroEX

    ZeroEX
    Banned

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2004
    Messages:
    59
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    There you go, problem solved :rotfl:
     
  19. mark rosser

    mark rosser
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2000
    Messages:
    443
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    solihull, west midlands
    Ratings:
    +64
    thanks guys for the kind offer of swaps!

    i'm kind of getting used to it running at native res, but to be honest it didn't cross my mind that this would make some views small! :zonked:

    cheers
     

Share This Page

Loading...
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice