My New PTAE100

Discussion in 'Projectors, Screens & Video Processors' started by smicker, Aug 12, 2002.

1. smicker

smicker

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have just got my new AE100 last night, this is my first projector and I think its fantastic,(sorry Iam a little excited)
    I was projecting it onto a wall above the fire place, but after looking at a few threads on AV Forums on Dulex Icestorm 5 & 6 I bought myself a peice of 6 X 4 MDF and painted it with number 6 and was absolutely chuffed to bits. I will spend the money saved on some good quality leads. If anyone out there is thinking of buying a screen just try this before you buy, yes its a bit of hassle to lift the board out it takes about 2 mins to set up and it wont break or wrinkle. Still trying to work out best set up for sky and PS2 ?????
    I have a Arcam DV88 AVR100 PS2 Sky (with no svideo out) Was thinking of progressive scan upgrade but am unsure if Pal NTSC hack or if I should go down the lines of an Iscan???? Also I guess I should go for componet if so can any one rocomend where to go.

Cheers Smicker

2. JSW

JSW

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +333
    Welcome to the club :)

3. MAW

MAW
    Banned

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +411
    A pro-v might be a cheaper option, after all an iscan costs nearly as much as your projector.

4. Joshm74

Joshm74
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    A friend of mine just bought the PT-AE100E a few weeks ago and tried the MDF screen thingy but couldn't get great results. Having said that I am not sure whether he used the correct paint. Anyways he now has shelled out £250 for a proper screen and the results are truly amazing! Definitely worth the investment - especially if you're gonna spend £1300 on the projector anyway. Just waiting for a few more pay cheques before I splash out on mine :)

5. mcmullanbrush

mcmullanbrush
    Banned