1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My new 50PV500 - 56k warning...!

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by MRW, Oct 20, 2005.

  1. MRW

    MRW
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2002
    Messages:
    238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks
    Ratings:
    +3
    Well, I've been reading these forums for a long time now and researching recently and decided to get hold of a Panasonic PV500.

    My boss owed me some money, so I could have either taken £2500 cash and bought a 42PV500, or I could have let him buy me a 50PV500.

    I considered this choice for about 3 seconds.

    Below are some (pretty bad) pictures that don't really do the screen justice.

    First of all, we have the old TV, a rented ( :rolleyes: ) 32" Sanyo thing. This has done us proud over the last 4 years, it has to be said.

    (Please read the notes between the pictures)

    Old 32" Sanyo:

    [​IMG]

    However, this morning, I took delivery of this box:

    [​IMG]

    It was a big box, and the poor courier man almost had a heart attack carrying it down the steps to our house with me helping. The box weighs 62kg.

    I decided (for the time being) to have the plasma on the desktop (or pedestal) stand. Here is a very exciting picture of the stand in its box (which weighed 16kg).

    [​IMG]

    The stand assembled looks like this:

    [​IMG]

    Next I struggled on my own to fit the beast onto the pedestal, and then lift the thing onto this TV unit, and please excuse the state of the shelves etc around the plasma, we've ordered some new furniture:

    [​IMG]

    Then I made sure that the thing worked, below is a picture of 'Finding Nemo', being run through my Xbox:

    [​IMG]

    And another - this time a little bit closer, with no flash:

    [​IMG]

    Here's a pic of Halo:

    [​IMG]

    Next I played about (following the advice of members here about taking the plasma out of Dynamic mode etc) with some of the settings.

    This is a picture of the plasma in 'Normal' mode:

    [​IMG]

    And this is one of the plasma in 'Dynamic' mode:

    [​IMG]

    The camera doesn't really seem to show up the differences, but in real life the difference between 'Normal' and 'Dynamic' is amazing.

    Another couple of pictures:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Back to the Xbox, this is a picture of Forza Motorsport in 'Normal' mode:

    [​IMG]

    And in 'Dynamic' mode:

    [​IMG]

    Again, the camera seems to compensate for the increased brightness and contrast when the plasma is in 'dynamic' mode, so the images here don't really seem to be that much different.

    Additionally, I recorded some movies using my digital camera:

    Finding Nemo (7.6MB, 31 seconds)

    Forza Motorsport 1 (24.7MB, 1 minute 50 seconds)

    Forza Motorsport 2 (27.1MB, 2 minutes, 0 seconds)

    You'd be best to right-click and 'Save As' these...

    Any questions/comments are welcome!
     
  2. f1racer

    f1racer
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Messages:
    14
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +2
    Nice one! I bought mine yesterday, but it won't be coming out the box until the weekend. Amazed that you done all the lifting by yourself! I just don't trust the wife to help me lift it onto the wall mount, I'll be phoning a friend ;)
     
  3. MRW

    MRW
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2002
    Messages:
    238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks
    Ratings:
    +3
    Do your back a favour and ask a strong friend. Lifting my 50" did no good to my back, or my heart.
     
  4. Jim_Fear

    Jim_Fear
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,799
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Location:
    Caterham
    Ratings:
    +59
    Ohoh baby, that looks amazing, espcially halo and nemo, nice XJ220 by the way super choice :p
     
  5. w3dal

    w3dal
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,794
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Chelmsford, Essex
    Ratings:
    +507
    Fella,

    Are you gonna leave it in dynamic mode???

    way to harsh for me. they say to take it out of that mode for the first 200 hours.

    Dal
     
  6. acrmorris

    acrmorris
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2005
    Messages:
    326
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    East Grinstead
    Ratings:
    +0
    Man - with a panel like that, you gotta lose the video player :eek: Anybody who says size doesn't matter is lying. That is a beast of a screen. Top choice :smashin:
     
  7. MRW

    MRW
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2002
    Messages:
    238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks
    Ratings:
    +3
    I agree with you. It will be out of dynamic mode for at least the first 200 hours, and then I may choose to keep it that way. I reckon it's too harsh too.

    I might increase the contrast though after running the screen in.
     
  8. MRW

    MRW
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2002
    Messages:
    238
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    High Wycombe, Bucks
    Ratings:
    +3
    The video's last few days are approcahing, fear not. We haven't used it in about a year!

    Cheers.
     

Share This Page

Loading...