My modest living room 5.1.2 setup

SBB

I built this a couple of years ago but recently had a tidy up and got a new screen so figured i'd post it up,

I don't have a large space and i'm not a professional but I managed to do my best with it doing the majority of the work myself,

When I moved in I had this really horrible housebrick fireplace and TV stand, I'm sure it was "fashionable" at some point but it was way past its sell-by date!

20180124_215917.jpg

So I quickly smashed that out ...

20180205_224446.jpg

The fireplace void was filled and the damage plastered over and new skirting boards all round the room

I wanted the TV to be central in the wall and as little visible wiring as possible so I chased the wall and ran ethernet, satellite, power, HDMI and speaker cables, and filled over. Ran the 4x speaker cables into the ceiling void for the rear and height speakers to be fitted later on.

IMG_20181111_164510.jpg

Faceplates fitted - I used euro modular faceplates for most of it and found this nice binding post plate on ebay for the speaker connections (2x rear and 2x height speakers)

s-l500.jpg

IMG_20181208_235420.jpg

I chased in a speaker wire for each of the rear speakers and ran them into a back box

IMG_20181111_164523.jpg

Wallpaper on - looking miles better already!

IMG_20190104_111931.jpg

I used an Ikea Besta 180cm unit and fitted a 186cm (so I didnt need to trim the sides) Karlby walnut effect kitchen worktop on top. I trimmed about 20cm off the rear to make it fit nicely. Was originally going to screw it into the Besta cabinet but in the end I just left it loose so I could easily slide it off and access the wires behind!

IMG_20210117_165836.jpg

Ceiling height speakers in - placement in relation to listening position wasn't perfect due to having to work around joists but its only noticeable if you point it out (and i'm really fussy about those things)

IMG_20210117_165901.jpg

Rear speakers:

IMG_20210117_165844.jpg