1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My Marantz SR6200 turned up today but ....

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by CodeThief, Aug 12, 2002.

Tags:
  1. CodeThief

    CodeThief
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    660
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5
    It bloody well switches itself off (standby) after using the TV Phonos for 5 minutes. You can use the CD Phono input fine for as long as you want with CD / Sky box but if you plug into the TV phonos then after 5 minutes it switches off. DVD works fine, delays of about 2 seconds on skipping chapters etc but other than that fine. Anyone else seen this or could try their 6200 to check??

    Dave
     
  2. Ian J

    Ian J
    Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2001
    Messages:
    25,529
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,906
    It's something to do with autodetect in the setup menu. I sold my 6200 a few months ago and have forgotten exactly what it is called.

    Access the OSD and switch it off. It stumped me for a while too.
     
  3. kevb

    kevb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,099
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    About
    Ratings:
    +3
    There is a setting for this in the set-up, called something like TV-auto off or something like that. I can't quite remeber anyway set it to off and everthing will be fine.
     
  4. CodeThief

    CodeThief
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    660
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5
    THANK YOU !!!!!!!!!! You've just saved me waiting for the courier :)

    Dave
     
  5. kevb

    kevb
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,099
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    41
    Location:
    About
    Ratings:
    +3
    What was the option called. Don't keep us in suspense.:D
     
  6. CodeThief

    CodeThief
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    660
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5
    It's on Page 18 of the manual *cough* I read it I swear!!!! *cough*. Called TV AUTO ON/OFF of all things. Gotta unpack it and try again now :)
     
  7. CodeThief

    CodeThief
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    660
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5
    Right, I've just changed it and Im watching TV now :) Lets see how we get on. BTW on the OSD it's labelled as TV AUTO. Not "TV AUTO ON/OFF" Which is fecking helpful. It's a little stupid that it defaults to enabled as well!!

    DAve
     
  8. paiger

    paiger
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    What are your first impressions? I'm looking at one of these as a replacement for a Sony 940. I'm not too fussed about movies but would like DPL2. My main focus is on 2 or multi-channel music. I'm demoing one soon but would like any thoughts you might have. How does it compare to any previous amps you had?

    Steve
     
  9. Pete Callan

    Pete Callan
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2002
    Messages:
    104
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    London
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah, tell us what you think.

    I've actually got one sitting unopened on my desk at work. I'm waiting till all the speakers have arrived too then I'll drive in and pick them all up. Can't wait, final speakers arrive tomorrow, (apparantly).

    I'll then have: Loewe Vitros 32", Tosh 510 DVD, Marantz 6200, Mission M7C2, M73, M7DS, Panny 630 VCR.
     
  10. CodeThief

    CodeThief
    Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2002
    Messages:
    660
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Location:
    UK
    Ratings:
    +5
    Well so far I think it's great. Haven't done any serious movie watching / music listening yet, just going through my DVD collection looking for good surround sound scenes ;) I came from a Technics EX-120 2 channel amp so I can't compare to other DD amps :( It sounds nicer in 2 channel so far than my old Technics did! Im preferring CS5.1 over DPL2 though as DPL2 sounds too compressed (dynamicaly) and CS5.1 sounds more like DD. The remote is the cheapest tackiest plastic piece of ****e ever though!! I'd suggest getting an all in one to replace it. I've programmed my TV / DVD remote into it so far though. It's bloody huge and feels like it came out of a cracker weight wise. The amp itself is bloody heavy (comparitively). All the weights down the left hand side as well which makes moving it interesting :eek: !!

    Overall, very happy with it but I'll keep you updated :)

    Dave
     

Share This Page

Loading...