Quantcast

My Living room evolution

Distinguished Member
I had intended to put this up when i was finished, but have since realised that will never happen. There's always something else that can be changed/modified/upgraded so here goes.

Apologies for the photographs, i'm not very good with a camera and most photos were taken for other purposes.

This is where it all started. I had money and was content with my lot, then i found AVF. Bought a 5.0 set of Eltax Atlantis speakers and Onkyo SR607 reciever. Cheap Bush TV wall mounted with wires chased.
IMG_20151105_142348.jpg

Painted the front of the speakers gloss black and added a set of Kef 1005 height speakers for Dolby PLllz. Sofa pulled into middle of room.
IMG_20151212_204007.jpg

IMG_20151212_204550.jpg
IMG_20151212_204615.jpg

Then came an upgrade in the shape of a Monitor Audio Radius 5.1 set and 3.6m of Besta unit.
IMG_20160206_123259.jpg

You'll have to guess what the next change was ;)
IMG_20160215_122025.jpg
IMG_20160215_122117.jpg

100" grey electric screen from eBay for the princely sum of £80. Mated to forum favorite projector BenQ W1070.
IMG_20160217_154912.jpg

Next up came a colour change to improve contrast with the projector.
IMG_20160522_092726.jpg

And a sneak preview of the next upgrade.
IMG_20160602_133157.jpg

Last edited:

Distinguished Member
IMG_20160727_074602.jpg
IMG_20160727_074616.jpg
IMG_20160727_074625.jpg
IMG_20160727_074654.jpg

Realism test passed!
IMG_20160811_153227.jpg

Decided to go the DIY route with my sub.
IMG_20160602_133226.jpg

Made from a JBL GT5-12 driver in a MDF box fitted into the Besta unit as i wanted a clean look.
I gave no thoughts to this driver other than price and intend to rebuild with a better driver using WinISD this time. Then i'm going to build another one for the other side :thumbsup: