1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

My Hitachi is finally here. Screenshots included

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by ZeFab, Mar 6, 2003.

  1. ZeFab

    ZeFab
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi everyone!

    Just a quick word from Paris to tell you I'm so happy!

    My 42PMA400E arrived a couple of days ago and it is now proudly hanging on my wall. Picture is just amazing. I still can't figure out why ALIS panels are so controversial on this forum (or maybe the last generation is really above others)...

    Here are a few pics:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  2. steve36

    steve36
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    927
    Products Owned:
    1
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Warwickshire
    Ratings:
    +28
    Well I'm impressed.
    If only I had a large room so I did'nt have to sit 8 feet away from the plasma. By the sound of it if the fans don't get me, in some plasmas the buzzing will, or possibly the heat !!!
    (p.s. I'm not saying I do not believe you when you say it is not that noisy !).

    Ok give me a clue, how are you getting such a good picture with what I assume is Spin city. Do you have HD TV in France ????

    Steve.
     
  3. crawler

    crawler
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    puree zefab, on te voit partout!
     
  4. ZeFab

    ZeFab
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Steve.

    HDTV in France? Are you kidding me?:laugh: :laugh:
    Nothing scheduled yet and I guess the only HD inputs I'll get will be Blue Ray DVDs before a while.

    The spin city picture just comes from Canal+, on the cable network. The picture is excellent on that channel, but I guess the screenshot helps though.

    However, I must say that unlike many people that have posted here or on AVS Forums, I have been stunned by the picture of my display. My level of expectation was slightly lower...:D :D
     
  5. peve3

    peve3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    436
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    very nice !!, might get one my self just a few questions.

    what sort of conections has this plasma got ? plz say scart !!
    does it support pal progressive scan ?
    what resolution is it ?
    can u get a media box with it ?
    i seen it for around £2500 does that seems ok ?




    thx for any help
     
  6. peve3

    peve3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    436
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
  7. ZeFab

    ZeFab
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    This version has no scart.

    But you cand find the 42PD3000 that is more like a real TV:
    Tuner box with a lot of connectors (including Scart), speakers, and stand.
     
  8. Joel

    Joel
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    What is the difference between the 42PMA400E and the 42PD3000, other than the PMA's shortage of scart?

    Joel
     
  9. ZeFab

    ZeFab
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Joel, are you blind? :laugh:

     
  10. peve3

    peve3
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Messages:
    436
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    yea but at about 600 pounds more just for a conection to scart thats crazy!! wats the cheepest 42PD3000 anybodys found i found around £2600 + pap at drc direct anybody found cheaper ?
     
  11. BIONIC MAN

    BIONIC MAN
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    Messages:
    952
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Nasa
    Ratings:
    +38
    I must also say it's looking very Coooooooool indeed

    Just one thing to ask , I'am also goinh to put Plasma on fireplace wall and all Av goods in fireplace ,

    How have you got all the wire / cables etc running ? ? , and what happens if any thing goes wrong ( But hope not ) :smashin:

    So all advise and help , on how to arrange

    Thanks

    :D
     
  12. ZeFab

    ZeFab
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Basically, keep it simple!:D

    I've just made a 2" hole in the wall behind the plasma panel to let the cables go through the fireplace “tunnel”.
    Cables are thus accessible both from behind the plasma or in the fireplace…
     
  13. BIONIC MAN

    BIONIC MAN
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2002
    Messages:
    952
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Location:
    Nasa
    Ratings:
    +38
    Hi

    Thanks for that , but my old fire place keeps getting soot came down which Will not do the Plasma any good ,
    Do you get the Problem , also have you drilled a hole in the side of the fireplace for the Plugs etc

    :smashin:
     
  14. ZeFab

    ZeFab
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    The fire place has been cleaned out and has been isolated from the roof.

    We have indeed drilled some holes on both side for the cables and plugs...

    It looks cleaner than before, and my wife is making my life much easier :D :D :rotfl:
     
  15. Joel

    Joel
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ehh no, I'm Swedish.

    Yes, I can see that the other has a tuner box, but what does it provide that the screen only does not (except for the lack of scart)? Or do you acyually pay£600 extra for a Scart?

    Joel
     
  16. ZeFab

    ZeFab
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Well, nothing.

    But the tuner box and the speakers can be considered as a plus.
    Also, the PD3000 has no fan (thus no noise!).

    On the other hand, you can much more fine tune the picture quality of the PMA400E and the blacks are quoted to be "blacker" than on the PD3000...
     

Share This Page

Loading...