My friend can watch Astra videoguard channels (how is this done)

Discussion in 'Satellite TV, Sky TV & FreeSat' started by jzcasejz, Jul 2, 2005.

  1. jzcasejz

    jzcasejz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I recently became a big footy fan and my friend once told me he had sky sports (which is broadcasted on the Astra satellite but has videoguard on it) and he was watching sky sports on satellite tv not sky. He says he hasn't got sky but just has satellite and can watch sky sports. I told him how is this possible and he said that the man who installed it for him (apparenlty an irani man) said that whatever channels don't work, that he will give them a code and they just entre it in and they can watch the channel. My friend saw that SKy Sports is availabel and he asked the man for the code and it all worked.

    How the hell is this possible!!!

    p.s. he also says that sometimes the code runs out and he has to call hime again. And also he doesn't use none of this CAM,CI and Smartcard stuff
     
  2. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    What make of receiver ?
     
  3. jzcasejz

    jzcasejz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I don't know? I'm sure it doesn't matter what make of reciever it is. The main thing that amazes me is that he just eneter the code and it works :eek: :rolleyes: :confused:
     
  4. sprout

    sprout
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Messages:
    5,858
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Bridwater Somerset M5 Junction 23/24
    Ratings:
    +215
    :eek: :eek: :eek:

    And the magic number is?
     
  5. ash

    ash
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2005
    Messages:
    11,044
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +383
    You sure its SKy and not ART Sports?
     
  6. jzcasejz

    jzcasejz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    i'm not interested in giving you the number (but if i did have the number, i'd've definitely given them to you). the thing that amazes me is that he enters a number and he can watch sky.
    and yes it is sky sports. not art sports, sky sports!!
     
  7. Nick_UK

    Nick_UK
    Banned

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Messages:
    9,748
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +270
    Well your post indicated that you wanted to know how it was done. That's not easy when you can't really tell us much about his system, other than it was installed by an Iranian.
     
  8. sprout

    sprout
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Messages:
    5,858
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Bridwater Somerset M5 Junction 23/24
    Ratings:
    +215
    LOL, no sorry I shouldn't :devil:

    Sorry :)
     
  9. jzcasejz

    jzcasejz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    okay, i'll get the system details. the reason i don't know anything about his system (beside he's got satellite with astra satellite) is because i was so amazed he could just enter the code to activate the channel. no need for this confusing smartcard stuff.

    and it looks as if none of you guys here are fimilair with any of this. is this new or a secret the iranians have kept to themselves for a long time?
     
  10. jzcasejz

    jzcasejz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    what the hell are you on about sprout. were you about to say something offensive :nono:
     
  11. sprout

    sprout
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Messages:
    5,858
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Bridwater Somerset M5 Junction 23/24
    Ratings:
    +215
    Wagging your finger is offensive :D , LOL at the comment in the quote was too difficuilt to refuse.

    Perhaps there is an engineer code out there that allows such a happening! and gets changed regularly? Too risky for them I would say :eek:

    sprout
     
  12. jzcasejz

    jzcasejz
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    no, my friend described it as a hack. sorry for doing this :nono: sprout
     
  13. sprout

    sprout
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2002
    Messages:
    5,858
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Location:
    Bridwater Somerset M5 Junction 23/24
    Ratings:
    +215
    Hey, we are all here to be friendly, helpful and have a bit of fun :thumbsup:

    No offence taken :cool:

    sprout
     
  14. Chris Muriel

    Chris Muriel
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    7,108
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Manchester
    Ratings:
    +713
    Might be from Sky Italia which happens to also use a less secure CA system but does , of course, broadcast $ky material.
    I forget whether that was on Hotbird or Asta 19E.
    It was hacked several months ago.

    Chris Muriel, Manchester.
     

Share This Page

Loading...