My first video with Panasonic SD40

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Making Forum' started by wearywanderer, Sep 3, 2012.

1. wearywanderer

wearywanderer
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I'm a total newbie to camcorders and wanted to create some videos to share YouTube. So I got myself a refurbished Panasonic HDC-SD40 for USD 147... which I thought was a pretty neat deal.

Now I'm no enthusiast but I thought the video quality is a bit shoddy... but what do I know? And I wanted to get some feedback from someone else... so here's a montage I uploaded to YouTube: Panasonic HDC-SD40 testing at AquaView park - YouTube

All settings on Auto except Scene Mode set to Landscape and Rec Mode to HA1920.

The video was edited using Corel VideoStudio Pro X5 and saved as a MP4 HD file.

2. chrishull3

chrishull3

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +282
    For better quality i make files in avchd 1920x1080P,the files can be loaded on your youtube upload from where you chooose to put the files before render IE main pc or an external.

3. wearywanderer

wearywanderer
    Novice Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    yesterday I took a video with the SD40 attached to my motorcycle, which was one of my requirements... and this is what I got: Route366 - YouTube

Needless to say, its no GoPro, but I was really surprised at how bad the video came out... did I get the wrong tool for the job? Or were the settings not optimal for the conditions?

Help!:lease:

4. Chelters

Chelters

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +76
    Yes the motorcycle! :)
    Sounds like a V twin, far too much high frequency vibration anyway.
    You'll want a far better mount, one that isolates the camera from the vibration.
    I don't know if the SD40 has OIS switching, two different modes of stabilization, if it has try the other one.