Question My first system. Could I do better?

Oli B

Novice Member
Reaction score
Hello

This is my first post of many hopefully.

I'm a novice.
I currently have an entry level Rotel amp, some bookshelf B&Ws and a decent REL Sub (which I love!)

I am looking to take the next step up and spend somewhere around 10K on a system.
I only play vinyl.

I have demoed a few different things and have settled on a system.
(It's coming out at £11,200 brand new.)

Linn LP-12 Magik Turntable
Harbeth HL5 speakers
Naim NAP 200 power amp
Naim NAC 202 preamp
Naim Stageline Phono Stage
Transparent leads (nothing too crazy £300 for 8ft)

I don't imagine I can be talked out of the Linn! I love its history and it's a thing of beauty in Walnut.

I'm also a big fan of the Harbeth's. I love Rogers speakers. I love that BBC sound. I would like to hear some other options though as they do lack a bit of bassy punch.

The amp is where I'm a bit out of my depth.
3 questions:

1. Is it worth getting a pre and power amp, or should I just go integrated. (It's about a grand cheaper.)
2. Is there a better amp I could get for around 4K
3. Naim power and pre-amps are a lot cheaper second hand, from about 5-10 years ago. Is there much advantage buying new?

And then one more question.

I currently have a REL subwoofer which I love.
My only gripe with the Harbeth's was the lack of punchy bass.
Would it be sacrilege to put my REL into the system above on a really low crossover?

Thank you.

Sorry to come barging in here with a load of questions!

Oli

I currently have an entry level Rotel amp, some bookshelf B&Ws and a decent REL Sub (which I love!)

I am looking to take the next step up and spend somewhere around 10K on a system.

That's one massive step up!

My first thought when I read the title question, 'Could I do better?' was 'probably yes'. Then I read the rest of your post:

I don't imagine I can be talked out of the Linn! I love its history and it's a thing of beauty in Walnut.